





HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION honoring the South Spencer High School Lady Rebels softball team.

Whereas, The South Spencer High School softball team brought home the school's first state title for any girls sports program by defeating Southmont High School by a score of 1-0 in the Class 2A state softball championship;

Whereas, This year, however, was not the school's first appearance in the championship game; the Lady Rebels appeared in the final game in 1999 but fell short;

Whereas, The game remained scoreless for six and a half innings when senior Chandra Schroeder led off the bottom of the seventh with a double to left center;

Whereas, Freshman Hannah Epperson delivered the game winning hit to centerfield, driving in Chandra Schroeder;

Whereas, Junior Kaylea Horn threw a two-hitter and struck out 11 batters;

Whereas, The Lady Rebels hold a very special place in the heart of coach Tara Compton, who was a member of the first softball team at South Spencer High School in 1988 and has coached the team for the past 17 years;

Whereas, Chandra Schroeder was chosen as the Mental Attitude Award recipient in Class 2A softball by the members of the Indiana High School Athletic Association Executive



2015 HC 1037/DI 84

Committee;

Whereas, A talented multisport athlete, Chandra, a three-year starter, has played shortstop, first base, and outfield and has three years of varsity experience in basketball; she also earned Pocket Athletic Conference honors for her achievements in golf; and

Whereas, Outstanding accomplishments, whether they be in the classroom or on the athletic field, deserve special recognition: Therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana, the Senate concurring:

SECTION 1. That the Indiana General Assembly congratulates the South Spencer High School Lady Rebels softball team on its Class 2A state championship and wishes the girls continued success in all their future endeavors.

SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit a copy of this resolution to team members Justice Taylor, Hannah Epperson, Katelyn Wead, Beka Engelhardt, Maddie Dawson, Chandra Schroeder, Mackenzie Dohoney, Katie Kuester, Mati Young, Kaylea Horn, Meredith Hendrix, Autumn Brumley, Courtney Norman, Kayeleigh Middleton, Nicole Damm, Rileigh Ling, Kyleigh Cooper, Hayley Borst, Mattison Bartlett, Bailey Percifield, and Shelby Sitzman; assistant coaches Jim Seiler and Chris Dawson; head coach Tara Compton; athletic director Bruce Green; principal Angela Gladish; and superintendent Candis Haskell.

2015 HC 1037/DI 84

