



2015

20152754

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION to honor and welcome the Midwest Region of the National Black Law Students Association as it hosts its annual regional convention in Indianapolis in February, 2015.

Whereas, The National Black Law Students Association (NBLSA) was founded in 1968 to serve as a resource for minority law students throughout the United States and, with over 6,000 members, serves as the largest student-run organization in the United States;

Whereas, The Midwest Region of the National Black Law Students Association (MWBLSA), serving as the largest geographical region of NBLSA, is comprised of 52 chapters from law schools in Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin;

Whereas, The Midwest Region will hold its annual regional convention in Indianapolis on February 18 through February 22, 2015, with corporate sponsors dedicating resources in this spectacular convention, including the Indiana Pacers, Eli Lilly and Co., Faegre Baker Daniels LLP, Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP, and Squire Patton Boggs;

Whereas, The 2014-2015 Midwest Regional Board has demonstrated its commitment to enriching the lives of not only law students, but also the community where it resides. This commitment has been demonstrated in, but is not limited to, the following examples: an annual academic retreat in September 2014 that brought practitioners in the legal field

2015 HC 1039/DI 84

together with students to enhance negotiation, advocacy, and transactional skills amongst other things; and collaborating with Protect Illinois Voting Rights in advocating for the safeguard in voting rights; and

Whereas, The Midwest Region has an executive board hailing from law schools all across the Midwest. Congratulations are extended to the following executive board members for an outstanding 2014-2015 term: Grace Akinlemibola, chair of the Midwest Black Law Students Association; Remington Jackson, vice-chair; Kendra Lee, Secretary; Briana Mayes, treasurer; Zachariah Oluwa Bankole, attorney general; Antoinette Wall, chief editor of the MWBLSA Law Journal; Jacqueline Newsome, chief-of-staff; Delante Thomas, sub-regional director I; Ronald Madlock, sub-regional director IV; Gerena Gregory, director of corporate relations; Dania Lofton, director of membership; Kejai McNeal, director of community service; Tobi Omoleye, director of alumni affairs; Shantel Thompson, director of education and career development; Georgeanna Bien-Aime, judicial advocacy specialist; and India Scarver, legislative advocacy specialist.

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana, the Senate concurring:

SECTION 1. That the members of the Indiana General Assembly applaud the Midwest Black Law Students Association for its commitment to scholarship, social change, the community, and for a spectacular 2015 regional convention in Indianapolis.

SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit a copy of this resolution to Grace Akinlemibola, Midwest Regional Chair, National Black Law Students Association.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

2015 HC 1039/DI 84