

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No.

DIGEST OF INTRODUCED RESOLUTION

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION recognizing the seven Black mayors in Indiana.

Harris, Shackleford, Pryor, Hatcher, Smith V, Jackson, Porter, Bartlett, Summers, Pack

______, read first time and referred to Committee on



HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No. ____

1 2	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION recognizing the seven Black mayors in Indiana.
3	Whereas, For the first time in history, the state of Indiana has
4	seven Black mayors who, as contemporaries, have worked to
5	establish a greater cause and purpose in municipal
6	government;
7	Whereas, The role of a mayor is pivotal to the overall
8	function of each city, as their duty is to represent the concerns
9	and interests of the populace and serve as a liaison between the
10	local government and the people they serve;
11	Whereas, Black leaders in the United States have put forth a
12	lot of effort to create an environment that is progressive,
13	addresses issues, and provides opportunities for success on all
14	fronts;
15	Whereas, To fully understand the capacity of a community,
16	you must be a part of one, and these mayors have showcased an
17	unwavering dedication to uphold their communities by
18	providing support, direction, and exposure to resources that
19	are necessary to prevail;
20	Whereas, It is important to acknowledge all Black leaders
21	who are implementors of selflessness and upholders of high
22	standards and order. The courage to lead is not easy but it is an
23	honorable notion to take pride in; and
24	Whereas, The Indiana Black Legislative Caucus shows its full
25	support of the work these distinguished mayors have put forth,



2024

1	and it is a privilege to honor and acknowledge their names and
2	their duty to serve the citizens of Indiana to the utmost
3	capacity: Therefore,
4	Be it resolved by the House of Representatives
5	of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana,
6	the Senate concurring:
7	SECTION 1. That the Indiana General Assembly recognizes
8	Mayor Eddie Melton of Gary, Mayor Deb Whitfield of
9	Lawrence, Mayor Anthony Copeland of East Chicago, Mayor
10	Angie Nelson-Deuitch of Michigan City, Mayor Rod Roberson
l 1	of Elkhart, Mayor Stephanie Terry of Evansville, and Mayor
12	Ronald Morrell, Jr. of Marion.
13	SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of
14	Representatives shall transmit copies of this resolution to State
15	Representative Earl Harris Jr. for distribution.

2024 HC 1026/DI 140