





2015

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION congratulating the West Side Leadership Academy Boys Track and Field team.

Whereas, West Side Leadership Academy won the 2014 Boys Track and Field State Championship on June 7, 2014, the Cougars' first state title since 1980 and sixth overall;

Whereas, West Side Leadership Academy defeated Carmel High School by just two points (41-39) after placing fifth in the final event, the 4x400 meter relay, gaining the points needed to take the lead;

Whereas, The outstanding athletes on this team included Darius Barnes, Deronte Bell, Deronte Buggs, Jonvae Johnson, Lonnie Johnson, Carlton Sims, Khalil Upshaw, and Barry Wesby;

Whereas, Senior Lonnie Johnson earned his own title as 2014 State Champion in the long jump event;

Whereas, Eugene M. Johnson has served as a coach at West Side Leadership Academy since the school opened as West Side High School in 1968;

Whereas, Eugene M. Johnson and assistant coaches Ronnie Bond, Steve Harper, and Brandon Wesby guided these hard working athletes to the state championship through their dedication and hard work;

Whereas, Coach Johnson has served as a gifted teacher



2015 HC 1036/DI 84

and devoted coach for hundreds of young people in the sports of basketball, football, and wrestling, as well as track and field;

Whereas, No Gary high school had earned a state title in boys track and field since Horace Mann High School in 1991; and

Whereas, Eugene M. Johnson and I have shared not only a strong friendship but also a love of athletics and a special place in our hearts for young people since our days, as young people, back in Philadelphia and at Cheyney State Teachers College (now Cheyney University of Pennsylvania): Therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana, the Senate concurring:

SECTION 1. That the Indiana General Assembly congratulates the West Side Leadership Academy on winning the 2014 Boys Track and Field State Championship and wishes the team continued success in all its future endeavors.

SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit a copy of this resolution to team members Darius Barnes, Deronte Bell, Deronte Buggs, Jonvae Johnson, Lonnie Johnson, Carlton Sims, Khalil Upshaw, and Barry Wesby, head coach Eugene M. Johnson, assistant coaches Ronnie Bond, Steve Harper, and Brandon Wesby, principal Terrance Little, and superintendent Dr. Cheryl L. Pruitt.

2015 HC 1036/DI 84



1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11