

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION No. ____

DIGEST OF INTRODUCED RESOLUTION

			N recognizind the 2017 ind	_
	Bai	rtlett		
 	, read first	time and referred	to Committee on	



2019220

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 2	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION recognizing the Indiana Military Veterans Hall of Fame and the 2017 inductees.
3	Whereas, Indiana owes a great debt to its veterans, past and
4	present, for their dedicated service;
5	Whereas, Indiana veterans honor our state and our nation by
6	their sacrifices and the sacrifices of their families;
7 8	Whereas, The Indiana Military Veterans Hall of Fame was founded in 2013;
9	Whereas, The objective of the Indiana Military Veterans Hall
10	of Fame is "to publically emphasize the honor brought to our
11	state and nation by the sacrifice of Indiana military veterans
12	and their families";
13	Whereas, Only a few other states have established a similar
14	Military Veterans Hall of Fame;
15	Whereas, 2014 marked the first inductions into the Indiana
16	Military Veterans Hall of Fame;
17	Whereas, Nominations came from all over the state and
18	represent military veterans from the American Civil War
19	through current engagements;
20	Whereas, The Indiana Military Veterans Hall of Fame was
21	established by representatives from government, business, and
22	retired military on ground near the American Legion's
23	Department of Indiana Headquarters in Lawrence;



2018

1	Whereas, The organization strives to publicly emphasize the
2	honor brought to the state of Indiana and the nation by the
3	sacrifice of Indiana military veterans and their families;
4	Whereas, The 2017 class of inductees into the Indiana
5	Military Veterans Hall of Fame includes Command Sergeant
6	Major Jerry O. Blake; Lieutenant Colonel Dale R. Crafton;
7	First Lieutenant George C. Ferkes; Sergeant William T.
8	Freeman; Brigadier General Benjamin Harrison; Colonel
9	James H. Kasler; Captain Walker M. "Bud" Mahurin;
10	Lieutenant General Thomas M. Montgomery; First Lieutenant
11	Larry R. Moore; Private First Class William H. Myers; Walter
12	J. A. Palmer; Captain Philip W. Patrick; Gunnery Sergeant
13	Nicholas A. Popaditch; Justice Robert D. Rucker Jr.; First
14	Lieutenant Richard M. Storm; and Frederick A. Taylor Jr.;
15	Whereas, Throughout the history of our great nation,
16	hundreds of thousands of men and women have served their
17	country with honor and pride in time of war and peace; and
18	Whereas, The Indiana Military Veterans Hall of Fame honors
19	these brave Hoosier veterans for their service and shares their
20	stories of sacrifice with the people of our state: Therefore,
21	Be it resolved by the House of Representatives
22	of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana,
23	the Senate concurring:
24	SECTION 1. That the Indiana General Assembly recognizes
25	the inductees into the Indiana Military Veterans Hall of Fame
26	for their great bravery and dedication to duty. Without brave
27	men and women like these, our state and nation could not exist.
28	SECTION 2. That the Principal Clerk of the House of
29	Representatives transmit a copy of this resolution to the Indiana
30	Military Veterans Hall of Fame and each of the 2017 inductees.

