

January 28, 2021

HOUSE BILL No. 1238

DIGEST OF HB 1238 (Updated January 28, 2021 11:27 am - DI 140)

Citations Affected: IC 36-7.

Synopsis: Northeast Indiana development commission. Establishes the northeast Indiana strategic development commission (commission). Provides for appointment of members of the commission. Specifies the purposes of the commission.

Effective: July 1, 2021.

Heine

January 14, 2021, read first time and referred to Committee on Government and Regulatory Reform. January 28, 2021, reported — Do Pass.



HB 1238-LS 7284/DI 125

January 28, 2021

First Regular Session of the 122nd General Assembly (2021)

PRINTING CODE. Amendments: Whenever an existing statute (or a section of the Indiana Constitution) is being amended, the text of the existing provision will appear in this style type, additions will appear in this style type, and deletions will appear in this style type.

Additions: Whenever a new statutory provision is being enacted (or a new constitutional provision adopted), the text of the new provision will appear in **this style type**. Also, the word **NEW** will appear in that style type in the introductory clause of each SECTION that adds a new provision to the Indiana Code or the Indiana Constitution.

Conflict reconciliation: Text in a statute in *this style type* or *this style type* reconciles conflicts between statutes enacted by the 2020 Regular Session of the General Assembly.

HOUSE BILL No. 1238

A BILL FOR AN ACT to amend the Indiana Code concerning local government.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

1	SECTION 1. IC 36-7-39 IS ADDED TO THE INDIANA CODE AS
2	A NEW CHAPTER TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY
3	1, 2021]:
4	Chapter 39. Northeast Indiana Strategic Development
5	Commission
6	Sec. 1. As used in this chapter, "commission" means the
7	northeast Indiana strategic development commission established
8	by section 3 of this chapter.
9	Sec. 2. As used in this chapter, "development area" means the
10	area consisting of the following counties:
11	(1) Adams County.
12	(2) Allen County.
13	(3) DeKalb County.
14	(4) Huntington County.
15	(5) Kosciusko County.
16	(6) LaGrange County.
17	(7) Noble County

17 (7) Noble County.

HB 1238-LS 7284/DI 125



1 (8) Steuben County. 2 (9) Wabash County. 3 (10) Wells County. 4 (11) Whitley County. 5 Sec. 3. The northeast Indiana strategic development commission 6 is established for the development area described in section 2 of 7 this chapter. 8 Sec. 4. The commission is established to develop and implement 9 plans and policies intended to achieve the following purposes in the 10 development area: 11 (1) Increase the per capita personal income relative to the 12 national average. 13 (2) Increase the population in the development area. 14 (3) Increase postsecondary education and credential 15 attainment among residents in the development area. 16 Sec. 5. (a) The commission consists of the following eleven (11) 17 members: 18 (1) Nine (9) members who serve four (4) year terms as 19 follows: 20 (A) Four (4) members appointed by the governor. The 21 members appointed under this clause may not all be from 22 the same political party. 23 (B) One (1) member appointed by the speaker of the house 24 of representatives. 25 (C) One (1) member appointed by the minority leader of 26 the house of representatives. 27 (D) One (1) member appointed by the president pro 28 tempore of the senate. 29 (E) One (1) member appointed by the minority leader of 30 the senate. 31 (F) One (1) member appointed by the mayors and 32 commissioners caucus of the northeast Indiana regional 33 development authority established under IC 36-7.6. 34 (2) The chief executive officer of the northeast Indiana 35 regional partnership, who serves as a nonvoting member. 36 (3) The president of the Regional Chamber of Northeast 37 Indiana, who serves as a nonvoting member. 38 (b) Each member of the commission must reside within the 39 development area. 40 (c) Not more than three (3) members may reside in the same 41 county. 42 Sec. 6. (a) Upon the expiration of the term of an appointed

HB 1238-LS 7284/DI 125

2

1	member of the commission, the member's successor shall be
2	appointed for a four (4) year term.
3	(b) A member may be reappointed.
4	Sec. 7. If a vacancy occurs among the appointed membership of
5	the commission, the vacancy shall be filled for the unexpired term
6	in the same manner and under the same conditions as the original
7	appointment.
8	Sec. 8. (a) Each year the commission shall elect the following
9	from among the members of the commission:
10	(1) A chairperson.
11	(2) A vice chairperson.
12	(3) A treasurer.
13	(b) An individual elected as a chairperson or a vice chairperson:
14	(1) serves a term of one (1) year beginning July 1 following the
15	date the individual is elected; and
16	(2) may be reelected.
17	Sec. 9. (a) The commission:
18	(1) shall fix the time for regular meetings; and
19	(2) may hold special meetings at the call of the chairperson
20	with seven (7) days written notice.
21	(b) A member may waive written notice of a specific meeting by
22	filing a written notice with the commission.
23	(c) Written notice is considered to have been given under this
24	section when the written notice is:
25	(1) placed in the United States mail, first class postage
26	prepaid; and
27	(2) sent to the business address of the members of the
28	commission.
29	Sec. 10. A member of the commission who is not a state
30	employee is not entitled to the minimum salary per diem provided
31	by IC 4-10-11-2.1. The member is also not entitled to
32	reimbursement for traveling expenses and other expenses actually
33	incurred in connection with the member's duties.
34	Sec. 11. The commission shall:
35	(1) accept grants, loans, and other forms of financial
36	assistance from any source and disburse them for the
37	purposes of the commission; and
38	(2) provide recommendations in matters related to the
39	commission's purposes to political subdivisions in the
40	development area.
41	Sec. 12. Before November 1 of each year, the commission shall
42	make a report of the commission's activities to the following:
_	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·

HB 1238—LS 7284/DI 125



1	(1) The legislative body of each county located in the
2	development area.
3	(2) The legislative body of each municipality located in the
4	development area.
5	(3) The governor.
6	(4) The general assembly. The report must be in an electronic
7	format under IC 5-14-6.

8 Sec. 13. This chapter expires June 30, 2031.



HB 1238—LS 7284/DI 125

COMMITTEE REPORT

Mr. Speaker: Your Committee on Government and Regulatory Reform, to which was referred House Bill 1238, has had the same under consideration and begs leave to report the same back to the House with the recommendation that said bill do pass.

(Reference is to HB 1238 as introduced.)

MILLER D

Committee Vote: Yeas 12, Nays 1



HB 1238-LS 7284/DI 125