Bill Text: IL SR0351 | 2019-2020 | 101st General Assembly | Introduced

Bill Title: Declares the date of May 8, 2019 as Alpha Kappa Alpha Day in the State of Illinois in honor of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, and its work.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 2-0)

Status: (Passed) 2019-05-08 - Added as Co-Sponsor Sen. Christopher Belt [SR0351 Detail]

Download: Illinois-2019-SR0351-Introduced.html

SR0351LRB101 12021 MST 59384 r
2 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, founded
3on the campus of Howard University in 1908 and incorporated in
41913, has established a mandate for carrying out the vision of
5a new day of excellence and performance; and
6 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority is the nation's oldest
7African-American sorority; the Sorority has never changed its
8mission to cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical
9standards, promote unity and friendship among college women,
10help alleviate problems concerning girls and women in order to
11improve their social status, maintain a progressive interest in
12college life, and to be of "Service to All Mankind"; and
13 WHEREAS, The 2018-2022 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
14administration, under the dynamic and creative leadership of
15International President Dr. Glenda Glover, who also serves as
16the first female President of her alma mater Tennessee State
17University in Nashville, Tennessee, continues to fulfill the
18service imperative of the organization's founders with the
19International Program "Exemplifying Excellence Through
20Sustainable Service"; this program concentrates on: Target
21#1-Historically Black Colleges and Universities-A Call for
22Action, Target #2-Women's Health and Wellness, Target
23#3-Building Your Economic Legacy, Target #4-The Arts, and

SR0351- 2 -LRB101 12021 MST 59384 r
1Target #5-Global Impact; and
2 WHEREAS, Many prominent women have been or are members of
3Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., including the late First Lady
4Eleanor Roosevelt, the late civil rights leaders Coretta Scott
5King and Rosa Parks, actress Phylicia Rashad, the late poet
6Maya Angelou, writer Toni Morrison, singer Alicia Keys,
7attorney Star Jones, financial expert Mellody Hobson,
8comedian/actress Wanda Sykes, actress Jada Pinkett-Smith, Cook
9County Recorder of Deeds Karen Yarbrough, Cook County Board
10President Toni Preckwinkle, U.S. Senator Kamala Harris, and the
11former President of Liberia, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf; and
12 WHEREAS, Lt. Governor Julianna Stratton and Representative
13LaToya Greenwood are the newest members of Alpha Kappa Alpha
14Sorority, Inc.; seasoned members of the sorority include
15Assistant Majority Leader Mattie Hunter and Senator Toi
16Hutchinson; and
17 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha's storied history of proven
18leadership and extensive involvement in the world community
19through strategic partnerships evidence the sorority's
20potential to significantly contribute to the world community;
22 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated made

SR0351- 3 -LRB101 12021 MST 59384 r
1history and expanded its international presence when it
2chartered its first chapter, Omega Theta Omega, in the Middle
3East; the chapter's 37 women, located in Abu Dhabi, Dubai and
4throughout the United Arab Emirates, are business executives,
5attorneys, educators, and physicians, among other accomplished
6professionals; and
7 WHEREAS, Leadership development is essential to the
8vitality of the organization, and the sorority's continuing
9requirements of academic excellence, shared values, and
10dedication to the mission of Alpha Kappa Alpha ensure a
11continuous wellspring of quality leaders; therefore, be it
13ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we declare the date of
14May 8, 2019 as Alpha Kappa Alpha Day in the State of Illinois
15in honor of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, and its
16work; and be it further
17 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
18presented to Central Regional Director Sonya L. Bowen,
19International President Dr. Glenda Glover, Illinois State
20Connection Coordinator Kimberly Irene Egonmwan, and Illinois
21State Connection Chair Nia Odeoti-Hassan.