Bill Text: IL SB0069 | 2021-2022 | 102nd General Assembly | Introduced


Bill Title: Amends the Illinois Vehicle Code. Provides that, beginning with the 2023 registration year, the Secretary of State, at the option of the applicant, shall issue permanent registration plates for a one-time fee of $118 to the owner of a trailer having a gross weight of 3,000 pounds or less. Provides that a person who has been issued a permanent trailer plate is not required to pay the annual flat weight tax and registration fee. Lowers the annual flat weight tax and registration fee for trailers with a gross weight of 3,000 pounds or less from $118 to $18.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 12-0)

Status: (Introduced) 2021-04-19 - Added as Co-Sponsor Sen. Steve McClure [SB0069 Detail]

Download: Illinois-2021-SB0069-Introduced.html


102ND GENERAL ASSEMBLY
State of Illinois
2021 and 2022
SB0069

Introduced 1/29/2021, by Sen. Terri Bryant

SYNOPSIS AS INTRODUCED:
625 ILCS 5/3-808.1 from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-808.1
625 ILCS 5/3-819 from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-819

Amends the Illinois Vehicle Code. Provides that, beginning with the 2023 registration year, the Secretary of State, at the option of the applicant, shall issue permanent registration plates for a one-time fee of $118 to the owner of a trailer having a gross weight of 3,000 pounds or less. Provides that a person who has been issued a permanent trailer plate is not required to pay the annual flat weight tax and registration fee. Lowers the annual flat weight tax and registration fee for trailers with a gross weight of 3,000 pounds or less from $118 to $18.
LRB102 04014 HEP 14030 b
FISCAL NOTE ACT MAY APPLY

A BILL FOR

SB0069LRB102 04014 HEP 14030 b
1 AN ACT concerning transportation.
2 Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois,
3represented in the General Assembly:
4 Section 5. The Illinois Vehicle Code is amended by
5changing Sections 3-808.1 and 3-819 as follows:
6 (625 ILCS 5/3-808.1) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-808.1)
7 Sec. 3-808.1. Permanent vehicle registration plate.
8 (a) Permanent vehicle registration plates shall be issued,
9at no charge, to the following:
10 1. Vehicles, other than medical transport vehicles,
11 owned and operated by the State of Illinois or by any State
12 agency financed by funds appropriated by the General
13 Assembly;
14 2. Special disability plates issued to vehicles owned
15 and operated by the State of Illinois or by any State
16 agency financed by funds appropriated by the General
17 Assembly.
18 (b) Permanent vehicle registration plates shall be issued,
19for a one-time fee of $8.00, to the following:
20 1. Vehicles, other than medical transport vehicles,
21 operated by or for any county, township or municipal
22 corporation.
23 2. Vehicles owned by counties, townships or municipal

SB0069- 2 -LRB102 04014 HEP 14030 b
1 corporations for persons with disabilities.
2 3. Beginning with the 1991 registration year,
3 county-owned vehicles operated by or for any county
4 sheriff and designated deputy sheriffs. These registration
5 plates shall contain the specific county code and unit
6 number.
7 4. All-terrain vehicles owned by counties, townships,
8 or municipal corporations and used for law enforcement
9 purposes when the Manufacturer's Statement of Origin is
10 accompanied with a letter from the original manufacturer
11 or a manufacturer's franchised dealer stating that this
12 all-terrain vehicle has been converted to a street worthy
13 vehicle that meets the equipment requirements set forth in
14 Chapter 12 of this Code.
15 5. Beginning with the 2001 registration year,
16 municipally owned vehicles operated by or for any police
17 department. These registration plates shall contain the
18 designation "municipal police" and shall be numbered and
19 distributed as prescribed by the Secretary of State.
20 6. Beginning with the 2014 registration year,
21 municipally owned, fire district owned, or Mutual Aid Box
22 Alarm System (MABAS) owned vehicles operated by or for any
23 fire department, fire protection district, or MABAS. These
24 registration plates shall display the designation "Fire
25 Department" and shall display the specific fire
26 department, fire district, fire unit, or MABAS division

SB0069- 3 -LRB102 04014 HEP 14030 b
1 number or letter.
2 7. Beginning with the 2017 registration year, vehicles
3 that do not require a school bus driver permit under
4 Section 6-104 to operate and are not registered under
5 Section 3-617 of this Code, and are owned by a public
6 school district from grades K-12 or a public community
7 college.
8 8. Beginning with the 2017 registration year, vehicles
9 of the first division or vehicles of the second division
10 weighing not more than 8,000 pounds that are owned by a
11 medical facility or hospital of a municipality, county, or
12 township.
13 9. Beginning with the 2020 registration year, 2-axle
14 motor vehicles that (i) are designed and used as buses in a
15 public system for transporting more than 10 passengers;
16 (ii) are used as common carriers in the general
17 transportation of passengers and not devoted to any
18 specialized purpose; (iii) operate entirely within the
19 territorial limits of a single municipality or a single
20 municipality and contiguous municipalities; and (iv) are
21 subject to the regulation of the Illinois Commerce
22 Commission. The owner of a vehicle under this paragraph is
23 exempt from paying a flat weight tax or a mileage weight
24 tax under this Code.
25 (b-5) Beginning with the 2016 registration year, permanent
26vehicle registration plates shall be issued for a one-time fee

SB0069- 4 -LRB102 04014 HEP 14030 b
1of $8.00 to a county, township, or municipal corporation that
2owns or operates vehicles used for the purpose of community
3workplace commuting as defined by the Secretary of State by
4administrative rule. The design and color of the plates shall
5be wholly within the discretion of the Secretary. The
6Secretary of State may adopt rules to implement this
7subsection (b-5).
8 (b-10) Beginning with the 2023 registration year, the
9Secretary, at the option of the applicant, shall issue
10permanent registration plates for a one-time fee of $118 to
11the owner of a trailer having a gross weight of 3,000 pounds or
12less. A person who has been issued a permanent trailer plate is
13not required to pay the annual flat weight tax under Section
143-819 or the registration fee required by Section 3-813.
15 (c) Beginning with the 2012 registration year,
16county-owned vehicles operated by or for any county sheriff
17and designated deputy sheriffs that have been issued
18registration plates under subsection (b) of this Section shall
19be exempt from any fee for the transfer of registration from
20one vehicle to another vehicle. Each county sheriff shall
21report to the Secretary of State any transfer of registration
22plates from one vehicle to another vehicle operated by or for
23any county sheriff and designated deputy sheriffs. The
24Secretary of State shall adopt rules to implement this
25subsection (c).
26 (c-5) Beginning with the 2014 registration year,

SB0069- 5 -LRB102 04014 HEP 14030 b
1municipally owned, fire district owned, or Mutual Aid Box
2Alarm System (MABAS) owned vehicles operated by or for any
3fire department, fire protection district, or MABAS that have
4been issued registration plates under subsection (b) of this
5Section shall be exempt from any fee for the transfer of
6registration from one vehicle to another vehicle. Each fire
7department, fire protection district, of MABAS shall report to
8the Secretary of State any transfer of registration plates
9from one vehicle to another vehicle operated by or for any fire
10department, fire protection district, or MABAS. The Secretary
11of State shall adopt rules to implement this subsection.
12 (d) Beginning with the 2013 registration year, municipally
13owned vehicles operated by or for any police department that
14have been issued registration plates under subsection (b) of
15this Section shall be exempt from any fee for the transfer of
16registration from one vehicle to another vehicle. Each
17municipal police department shall report to the Secretary of
18State any transfer of registration plates from one vehicle to
19another vehicle operated by or for any municipal police
20department. The Secretary of State shall adopt rules to
21implement this subsection (d).
22 (e) Beginning with the 2016 registration year, any vehicle
23owned or operated by a county, township, or municipal
24corporation that has been issued registration plates under
25this Section is exempt from any fee for the transfer of
26registration from one vehicle to another vehicle. Each county,

SB0069- 6 -LRB102 04014 HEP 14030 b
1township, or municipal corporation shall report to the
2Secretary of State any transfer of registration plates from
3one vehicle to another vehicle operated by or for any county,
4township, or municipal corporation.
5 (f) Beginning with the 2020 registration year, any vehicle
6owned or operated by a public school district from grades
7K-12, a public community college, or a medical facility or
8hospital of a municipality, county, or township that has been
9issued registration plates under this Section is exempt from
10any fee for the transfer of registration from one vehicle to
11another vehicle. Each school district, public community
12college, or medical facility or hospital shall report to the
13Secretary any transfer of registration plates from one vehicle
14to another vehicle operated by the school district, public
15community college, or medical facility.
16(Source: P.A. 100-956, eff. 1-1-19; 101-81, eff. 7-12-19.)
17 (625 ILCS 5/3-819) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-819)
18 Sec. 3-819. Trailer; Flat weight tax.
19 (a) Farm Trailer. Any farm trailer drawn by a motor
20vehicle of the second division registered under paragraph (a)
21or (c) of Section 3-815 and used exclusively by the owner for
22his own agricultural, horticultural or livestock raising
23operations and not used for hire, or any farm trailer utilized
24only in the transportation for-hire of seasonal, fresh,
25perishable fruit or vegetables from farm to the point of first

SB0069- 7 -LRB102 04014 HEP 14030 b
1processing, and any trailer used with a farm tractor that is
2not an implement of husbandry may be registered under this
3paragraph in lieu of registration under paragraph (b) of this
4Section upon the filing of a proper application and the
5payment of the $10 registration fee and the highway use tax
6herein for use of the public highways of this State, at the
7following rates which include the $10 registration fee:
8SCHEDULE OF FEES AND TAXES
9Gross Weight in Lbs.ClassTotal Amount
10Including Vehicleeach
11and Maximum LoadFiscal Year
1210,000 lbs. or lessVDD $160
1310,001 to 14,000 lbs.VDE206
1414,001 to 20,000 lbs.VDG266
1520,001 to 28,000 lbs.VDJ478
1628,001 to 36,000 lbs.VDL750
17 An owner may only apply for and receive two farm trailer
18registrations.
19 (b) Except as provided in subsection (b-10) of Section
203-808.1, all All other owners of trailers, other than
21apportionable trailers registered under Section 3-402.1 of
22this Code, used with a motor vehicle on the public highways,
23shall pay to the Secretary of State for each registration year
24a flat weight tax, for the use of the public highways of this
25State, at the following rates (which includes the registration
26fee of $10 required by Section 3-813):

SB0069- 8 -LRB102 04014 HEP 14030 b
1SCHEDULE OF TRAILER FLAT
2WEIGHT TAX REQUIRED
3BY LAW
4Gross Weight in Lbs.Total Fees
5Including Vehicle andeach
6Maximum LoadClassFiscal Year
73,000 lbs. and lessTA$18 $118
85,000 lbs. and more than 3,000TB154
98,000 lbs. and more than 5,000TC158
1010,000 lbs. and more than 8,000TD206
1114,000 lbs. and more than 10,000TE270
1220,000 lbs. and more than 14,000TG358
1332,000 lbs. and more than 20,000TK822
1436,000 lbs. and more than 32,000TL1,182
1540,000 lbs. and more than 36,000TN1,602
16 Of the fees collected under this subsection, $1 of the
17fees shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special
18Services Fund and $99 of the additional fees shall be
19deposited into the Road Fund; however, this sentence does not
20apply to any trailer with a gross weight of 3,000 pounds or
21less.
22 (c) The number of axles necessary to carry the maximum
23load provided shall be determined from Chapter 15 of this
24Code.
25(Source: P.A. 101-32, eff. 6-28-19.)
feedback