IL HB5499 | 2017-2018 | 100th General Assembly


Completed Legislative Action
Spectrum: Moderate Partisan Bill (Democrat 15-3)
Status: Failed on January 8 2019 - 100% progression
Action: 2019-01-08 - Session Sine Die
Text: Latest bill text (Introduced) [HTML]


Amends the State Officials and Employees Ethics Act. Creates the Offices of Executive Employee Advocacy and the Office of Legislative Employee Advocacy. Provides for the appointment of a Director to head each respective Office of Employee Advocacy. Provides for the qualifications and compensation of the Director. Provides that each respective Office of Employee Advocacy shall provide all employees over which it has jurisdiction with legal assistance, representation, and support concerning any complaint, investigation, or proceeding initiated under specified provisions of the Act, and operate a hotline through which covered employees may contact the Office concerning such matters. Allows the Director to employ and determine the compensation of staff as he or she determines necessary to carry out the functions of the Office. Provides that Executive Inspectors General and the Legislative Inspector General shall have the duty to appoint Directors of Employee Advocacy.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Professional trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.





2019-01-08HouseSession Sine Die
2018-04-13HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
2018-03-08HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
2018-03-08HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
2018-03-08HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John Connor
2018-02-21HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
2018-02-21HouseAssigned to Executive Committee
2018-02-20HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Grant Wehrli
2018-02-20HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deb Conroy
2018-02-20HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
2018-02-20HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Gregory Harris
2018-02-16HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Allen Skillicorn
2018-02-16HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Laura Fine
2018-02-16HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Litesa E. Wallace
2018-02-16HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
2018-02-16HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
2018-02-16HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Juliana Stratton
2018-02-16HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Steven A. Andersson
2018-02-16HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
2018-02-16HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
2018-02-16HouseReferred to Rules Committee
2018-02-16HouseFirst Reading
2018-02-16HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Sara Feigenholtz

Code Citations

ChapterArticleSectionCitation TypeStatute Text
543020-100New CodeSee Bill Text
543020-20Amended CodeCitation Text
543025-100New CodeSee Bill Text
543025-20Amended CodeCitation Text

Illinois State Sources

Bill Comments