IL HB2691 | 2017-2018 | 100th General Assembly


Spectrum: Bipartisan Bill
Status: Introduced on February 8 2017 - 25% progression
Action: 2017-05-10 - Added Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Severin
Pending: House Rules Committee
Text: Latest bill text (Introduced) [HTML]


Amends the Public Utilities Act. Adds provisions to the Telecommunications Article concerning the transition of Large Electing Providers to Internet Protocol-based networks and service. Provides that beginning July 1, 2017, a Large Electing Provider may cease to offer and provide a telecommunications service to an identifiable class or group of customers, other than voice telecommunications service to residential customers, upon 60 days' notice to the Commission and affected customers. Provides that beginning July 1, 2017, a Large Electing Provider, may cease to offer and provide voice telecommunications service to an identifiable class or group of residential customers subject to compliance with specified requirements. Repeals language that provides for the repeal of the Telecommunications Article of the Public Utilities Act on July 1, 2017. Removes the December 31, 2020 expiration date for an Illinois Commerce Commission-issued authorization to offer or provide cable or video service. Repeals language that provides for the repeal of specified Sections of the Cable and Video Competition Article of the Illinois Public Utilities Act on July 1, 2017. Defines terms and makes other changes. Effective immediately.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Professional trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.




Rep. Brandon Phelps [D]Rep. James Durkin [R]Rep. Andre Thapedi [D]Rep. Chad Hays [R]
Rep. Michael Zalewski [D]Rep. Daniel Beiser [D]Rep. Jay Hoffman [D]Rep. Lawrence Walsh [D]
Rep. Thomas Morrison [R]Rep. Grant Wehrli [R]Rep. Keith Wheeler [R]Rep. Michael McAuliffe [R]
Rep. Tom Demmer [R]Rep. David Welter [R]Rep. Jaime Andrade [D]Rep. Linda LaVia [D]
Rep. Justin Slaughter [D]Rep. William Davis [D]Rep. Luis Arroyo [D]Rep. Daniel Burke [D]
Rep. Robert Martwick [D]Rep. Joe Sosnowski [R]Rep. Norine Hammond [R]Sen. Elgie Sims [D]
Rep. Christine Winger [R]Rep. Jerry Long [R]Rep. Nicholas Sauer [R]Rep. Cynthia Soto [D]
Rep. John Cabello [R]Rep. Jeanne Ives [R]Rep. Bill Mitchell [R]Rep. Silvana Tabares [D]
Rep. Timothy Butler [R]Rep. Peter Breen [R]Rep. Randy Frese [R]Rep. Mark Batinick [R]
Rep. Barbara Wheeler [R]Rep. Steven Andersson [R]Rep. Rita Mayfield [D]Rep. Latoya Greenwood [D]
Rep. Ryan Spain [R]Rep. David Harris [R]Rep. Kelly Burke [D]Rep. Patricia Bellock [R]
Rep. Dan Brady [R]Rep. David Reis [R]Rep. Litesa Wallace [D]Rep. Mike Fortner [R]
Rep. Brad Halbrook [R]Rep. Steven Reick [R]Rep. Anthony DeLuca [D]Rep. Terri Bryant [R]
Rep. Thaddeus Jones [D]Rep. David McSweeney [R]Rep. Melissa Conyears-Ervin [D]Rep. Arthur Turner [D]
Rep. Reginald Phillips [R]Rep. Ann Williams [D]Rep. Thomas Bennett [R]Rep. Sonya Harper [D]
Rep. Sara Feigenholtz [D]Rep. Tony McCombie [R]Rep. Brian Stewart [R]Rep. Daniel Swanson [R]
Rep. Michael Unes [R]Rep. Robert Rita [D]Rep. Allen Skillicorn [R]Rep. Dave Severin [R]


2017-05-10HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Severin
2017-05-10HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Allen Skillicorn
2017-03-31HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
2017-03-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert Rita
2017-03-06HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael D. Unes
2017-02-27HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Swanson
2017-02-24HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brian W. Stewart
2017-02-24HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tony McCombie
2017-02-24HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sara Feigenholtz
2017-02-24HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
2017-02-24HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas M. Bennett
2017-02-23HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
2017-02-23HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Reginald Phillips
2017-02-23HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Arthur Turner
2017-02-23HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Melissa Conyears-Ervin
2017-02-22HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David McSweeney
2017-02-22HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thaddeus Jones
2017-02-22HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Terri Bryant
2017-02-22HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anthony DeLuca
2017-02-22HouseAssigned to Public Utilities Committee
2017-02-22HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Steven Reick
2017-02-22HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brad Halbrook
2017-02-16HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Fortner
2017-02-16HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Litesa E. Wallace
2017-02-16HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David B. Reis
2017-02-16HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Brady
2017-02-16HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patricia R. Bellock
2017-02-16HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Burke
2017-02-16HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David Harris
2017-02-16HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ryan Spain
2017-02-15HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. LaToya Greenwood
2017-02-15HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
2017-02-15HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Steven A. Andersson
2017-02-15HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Wheeler
2017-02-15HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark Batinick
2017-02-15HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Randy E. Frese
2017-02-14HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Peter Breen
2017-02-14HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tim Butler
2017-02-09HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Margo McDermed
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Silvana Tabares
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bill Mitchell
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeanne M Ives
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John M. Cabello
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Cynthia Soto
2017-02-09HouseRemoved Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nick Sauer
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jerry Lee Long
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Christine Winger
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elgie R. Sims, Jr.
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Norine K. Hammond
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joe Sosnowski
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert Martwick
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel J. Burke
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Luis Arroyo
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David A. Welter
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tom Demmer
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael P. McAuliffe
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Keith R. Wheeler
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Margo McDermed
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Grant Wehrli
2017-02-09HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas Morrison
2017-02-08HouseReferred to Rules Committee
2017-02-08HouseFirst Reading
2017-02-08HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lawrence Walsh, Jr.
2017-02-08HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jay Hoffman
2017-02-08HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel V. Beiser
2017-02-08HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
2017-02-08HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Chad Hays
2017-02-08HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. André Thapedi
2017-02-08HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jim Durkin
2017-02-08HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Brandon W. Phelps

Code Citations

ChapterArticleSectionCitation TypeStatute Text
220513-102Amended CodeCitation Text
220513-103Amended CodeCitation Text
220513-1200Repealed CodeCitation Text
220513-406Amended CodeCitation Text
220513-406.1New CodeSee Bill Text
220521-1601Repealed CodeCitation Text
220521-401Amended CodeCitation Text

Illinois State Sources

Bill Comments