18 LC 117 0368

Senate Resolution 951

By: Senators Kirkpatrick of the 32nd, Orrock of the 36th, James of the 35th, Tippins of the 37th, Rhett of the 33rd and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending Leadership Cobb and the members of the Leadership Cobb
- 2 Class of 2018; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb was founded in 1983 by a nucleus of leaders in order to train
- 4 a new group of leaders to guide Cobb County's future; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb owes a special debt of gratitude to its founders, Harris Hines,
- 6 Johnny Isakson, Phil Sanders, and Jay Whorton, and their vision for Cobb County, as well
- 7 as the Cobb County Chamber of Commerce for its continued support of the program; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb, from hundreds of qualified applications, selected only 50
- 9 diverse and exceptionally qualified individuals for the Class of 2018 to provide a learning
- 10 environment that enhances personal and professional growth to benefit the individual, his or
- 11 her local community, and the entire Atlanta region; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the time commitment includes eight full day sessions from September to May,
- 13 four evening sessions, two three-day retreats, as well as time to attend at least two Spotlights
- on Leadership, participation in one of several class projects, homework to prepare for
- 15 upcoming sessions, and a graduation ceremony, all of which require serious dedication but
- which help the participants become more engaged citizens; and
- 17 WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Class of 2018 is led by Leadership Cobb alumni Lee
- 18 Freeman-Smith, Brett McClung, Chris Martin, Tripp Boyer, and Michelle Howard from the
- 19 Cobb County Chamber of Commerce and dozens of alumni who volunteer for committees
- 20 to plan each program day, including class members Wendy Alpine, Elaine Armster, Lisa
- 21 Ashby, Neera Bahl, Dale Bercher, Alyssa Blanchard, Obie Brannon, Littie Brown, Jarrette
- 22 Burckhalter, Amy Carrier, Karen Cates, Cedric Clark, Christi Cronin, Lisa Cupid, Frank
- 23 Durrance, Jesse Evans, Britt Fleck, Jason Gaines, Derek Goshay, Tyler Gwynn, Bonnie
- 24 Harris, Stacy Haubenschild, Bob Heuel, David Hoeller, Erick Hofstetter, Peter Hortman,

18 LC 117 0368

25 Schuyler Hoynes, David Jones, Derek Krebs, Kelly Luscre, Tim Matthews, Anthony

- 26 Mullins, Nicole Nurse, Jonathan Page, Amber Patterson, Serena Ploessl, Ron Price, Esther
- 27 Prieto, Valerie Prince, Matt Reid, Christina Saliba, Jessi Samford, Kelvin Scott, Amanda
- 28 Seals, Jason Shepherd, Thomas Sherrer, Jr., Angie Smith, Trey Spivey, Meaghan Timko, and
- 29 Erin Zwigart; and
- 30 WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Class of 2018 is poised to make an "infinite impact" on
- 31 Cobb County.
- 32 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 33 recognize and commend Leadership Cobb and the members of the Leadership Cobb Class
- 34 of 2018 for their dedication to community service and their commitment to improving
- 35 opportunities for local citizens.
- 36 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 37 to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to Leadership Cobb
- and the members of the Leadership Cobb Class of 2018.