16 LC 109 0244

Senate Resolution 949

By: Senator Harbison of the 15th

A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending the high school nominees for the Muscogee County School

- 2 District's 2016 Teacher of the Year Award; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, each of the Muscogee District's schools nominated a teacher for the award,
- 4 which is chosen by the Muscogee Educational Excellence Foundation based on the
- 5 nominating application, an interview with the candidate, and an in-class observation of the
- 6 candidate; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the high school nominees for the Muscogee County School District's 2016
- 8 Teacher of the Year Award are Kenneth Lawrence, Lisa Mills, Susan Hernandez, Angelia
- 9 Davis, Tony McCraine, Akear Mewborn, John Cobis, Dekya Smith, and Robyn Watson; and
- 10 WHEREAS, nothing is more vital to the future of our state than the education of our young
- people, and these individuals exemplify the selfless dedication that is characteristic of our
- 12 finest teachers; and
- 13 WHEREAS, this commitment to excellence in education has earned the respect of students,
- parents, and colleagues, and such laudable work has garnered each of them a nomination as
- 15 the Muscogee County School District Teacher of the Year; and
- 16 WHEREAS, in recognition of such remarkable contributions to the education and welfare
- 17 of Georgia's students, it is abundantly fitting and proper for this body to honor the
- 18 extraordinary accomplishments and academic achievements of these exceptional teachers.
- 19 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 20 commend the high school nominees for the Muscogee County School District's 2016 Teacher
- 21 of the Year Award for such outstanding work, extend congratulations on being nominated
- 22 as the Muscogee County School District Teacher of the Year, and express their gratitude for
- 23 such invaluable contributions to education in Georgia.

16 LC 109 0244

24 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed

25 to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to the high school

26 nominees for the Muscogee County School District's 2016 Teacher of the Year Award.