16 LC 110 0197

Senate Resolution 916

By: Senators Mullis of the 53rd, Miller of the 49th, Tate of the 38th, Cowsert of the 46th and Jackson of the 24th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending the band Drivin' N Cryin' for their 2015 Group Award and
- 2 induction into the Georgia Music Hall of Fame; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, Drivin' N Cryin' formed in Atlanta, Georgia, in 1985; and
- 4 WHEREAS, they signed with Atlanta record company, 688 Records, and often played at the
- 5 688 Nightclub, known as the center of the underground Atlanta scene in the 1980s; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Drivin' N Cryin' released more than ten albums, including their 1990s
- 7 gold-certified album, Fly Me Courageous; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Drivin' N Cryin' are known for their diverse musical sound that combines
- 9 elements of the southern rock, punk, folk, and country genres into their own unique sound;
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, a compassionate group that cares about its city and its people, Drivin' N Cryin'
- 12 held its first Benefit for the Hopeful in 1987, an annual concert to raise money for Atlanta
- 13 area homeless organizations; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Drivin' N Cryin' members include Kevin Kinney, Tim Nielsen, Dave V.
- 15 Johnson, and Mac Carter, and former band members include Jeff Sullivan, Buren Fowler,
- 16 and Paul Lenz; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Drivin' N Cryin' has amassed a devoted fan base and been a staple of historical
- 18 musical excellence here in the State of Georgia.
- 19 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 20 recognize Drivin' N Cryin' for three decades of outstanding music, their 2015 Group Award,
- and their induction into the Georgia Music Hall of Fame.

16 LC 110 0197

22 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed

23 to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to Drivin' N Cryin'.