## Senate Resolution 882

By: Senators James of the 35th, Rhett of the 33rd, Davenport of the 44th, Seay of the 34th, Tate of the 38th and others

## A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing the South Fulton Chamber of Commerce on the grand occasion of its 69th

2 anniversary; and for other purposes.

3 WHEREAS, the South Fulton Chamber of Commerce started in 1947 as the East Point

4 Chamber of Commerce and over time, merged with the College Park Chamber of Commerce

5 and the DeKalb Chamber of Commerce before becoming independent again in 2002, as the

6 South Fulton Chamber of Commerce; and

7 WHEREAS, as one of two county chambers for Fulton County, it works with the county and

8 the seven municipalities on economic development, business retention and recruitment,

9 health and environmental issues, and education initiatives; and

10 WHEREAS, the South Fulton Chamber of Commerce is led by president and CEO, Y. Dyan

11 Matthews, and has a 20 member board of directors that represents major corporations,

12 medium and small businesses, and educational and government institutions and agencies; and

WHEREAS, the South Fulton Chamber of Commerce has been honored with the City of East
Point December 2015 Small Business of the Month award; it received a grant from the
Development Authority of Fulton County to develop a marketing guide for economic
development; and it is proud to have increased membership by 20 percent in 2015.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
recognize the South Fulton Chamber of Commerce on the grand occasion of its 69th
anniversary and wish it continued success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to the South Fulton

22 Chamber of Commerce.

16