20 LC 120 0323

Senate Resolution 824

By: Senators Martin of the 9th, Brass of the 28th, Black of the 8th, Dolezal of the 27th, Stone of the 23rd and others

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending the State School Superintendent's Teacher Advisory Council;
- 2 and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, a proper quality education for the young people of this state is the single most
- 4 important objective of the Teacher Advisory Council (TAC) and the Georgia General
- 5 Assembly; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the TAC is made up of teachers from across this state who represent all 16
- 7 RESA areas and their respective LEAs; and
- 8 WHEREAS, membership includes Teacher of the Year finalists, Milken Award teachers,
- 9 teachers nominated by their supervising principal, RESA staff, district administrators, and
- 10 central office directors; and
- 11 WHEREAS, TAC members meet to discuss how decisions made at the state level are
- 12 affecting teachers in Georgia's classrooms; and
- WHEREAS, the distinguished, hard-working teachers who are members of this prestigious
- 14 council are: Srinivas Akella, Esther Aligbe, Kristen Applebee, Michelle Ashmore, Lydia
- 15 Atubeh, Susan Barber, Deanna Bishop, Tara Bradley, Jolain Brownell, Julia Buff, Joanna
- 16 Burdell, Brian Butler, Andra Callahan, Megan Callihan, Heather Cocke, Christina Cooper,
- 17 Sherry Coulombe, Eric Crouch, Angela Cuyler-Hunter, Tracey Dicks, Doug Doblar, Liz
- 18 (Elizabeth) Driggers, Shelley Fandel, Kathryn Farr, Lisa Forshee, Andy Gibbs, Paula
- 19 Gilleland, Nathan Gray, Amanda Hall, Kimberly Hatcher, Beverly Hedges, Ana Hernandez,
- 20 Brandy Hobbs, Jill Hughes, Andrea Irvin, Reginald Jacobs, Molly Jeffries, Gary Jones II,
- 21 Michele E. Jones, Lewis Kelly, Ashleigh Kenny, Margaret (Marga) Kirschner, Gerald
- 22 Kosoff, April LaHayne, Karen Lane, Tammy Largin, Amanda Lo, Amber Loughridge,
- 23 Sandra Marrongelli, Heather McConnell, Shonta Melton, Amanda Miliner, Joseph Moncrief,
- 24 Pache Moore, Catherine Murray, Edith Nakiyingi, Whitney Naman, Dominique Nichols,

20 LC 120 0323

25 Janee Wesley Oliver, Amy Paulk, Marc Pederson, Tracey Pendley, Rueben Pitts, John

- 26 Powell, Kristin Rowland, Mark Schuler, Jeff Scott, Christopher Shumway, Andrea Sheldon,
- 27 Jennifer Smith, Charlene Stirewalt, Crista Stubbs, Michelle TaiSee, Sommier Thomas,
- 28 Melanie Thompson, Allison Kerley Townsend, Stephanie Vidrine, Suzette Weinhardt, Sarah
- 29 Welch, Eryn Whitfield, Lauren Whittaker, Sara Wilder, John Wood, and Kayla Yeargin; and
- 30 WHEREAS, it is abundantly fitting and proper that the outstanding accomplishments of these
- 31 extraordinary teachers be appropriately recognized.
- 32 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 33 recognize the State School Superintendent's Teacher Advisory Council; commend it for its
- 34 many outstanding contributions on behalf of the teachers of this state; and extend best wishes
- 35 for its continued growth, development, and success.
- 36 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 37 to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to the State School
- 38 Superintendent's Teacher Advisory Council.