Senate Resolution 823

By: Senators Thompson of the 14th, Kirkpatrick of the 32nd, Black of the 8th, Beach of the 21st and Rhett of the 33rd

A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending the Kennesaw State University football team; and for other

2 purposes.

WHEREAS, Kennesaw State University is home to the first start-up program in college football history to post three consecutive 11-win seasons during its first five years of competition and one of the only two FCS programs to post 11-plus wins in each of the last three seasons; and

WHEREAS, no other start-up program has earned more wins in its first five seasons than
Kennesaw State, with 48 victories, a record set on November 30, 2019, in the first round of

- 9 the FCS Playoffs; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the Owls have reached the FCS Playoffs for the past three years in a row and
- earned four playoff wins, accumulating more postseason victories than all other current Big
- 12 South schools combined; and
- 13 WHEREAS, under the leadership of Brian Bohannon, the Kennesaw State football team has
- 14 earned a Top 25 ranking for 33 consecutive weeks, dating back to the 2017 season; and

WHEREAS, Coach Bohannon also secured more wins in a shorter period of time than anyother coach in Big South history; and

- WHEREAS, Kennesaw State closed the 2019 season with the nation's best offensive ground
 attack, the number three total defense, and the number five rushing defense, securing its
 standing as an FCS powerhouse; and
- 20 WHEREAS, the Kennesaw State University football team has brought great pride to Owl
- 21 Nation and the State of Georgia through its continued display of strength, character, and
- 22 determination.

- 23 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 24 recognize and commend the Kennesaw State University football team and extend most
- 25 sincere wishes for future success.
- 26 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 27 to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to the Kennesaw
- 28 State University football team.