A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. for its 107 years of service and recognizing
- 2 March 2, 2020, as Delta Day at the state capitol; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. is a public service organization founded on
- 4 January 13, 1913, by 22 visionary collegiate women at Howard University in Washington,
- 5 D.C.; and
- WHEREAS, the founding members included Osceola Macarthy Adams, Marguerite Young
 Alexander, Winona Cargile Alexander, Ethel Cuff Black, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Zephyr
 Chisom Carter, Edna Brown Coleman, Jessie McGuire Dent, Frederica Chase Dodd, Myra
 Davis Hemmings, Olive Jones, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Pauline Oberdorfer Minor, Vashti
 Turley Murphy, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Mamie Reddy Rose, Eliza P. Shippen, Florence
 Letcher Toms, Ethel Carr Watson, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Madree Penn White, and Edith
- 12 Motte Young; and
- WHEREAS, the sorority's first public act of service occurred weeks after its inception with its participation in the Women's Suffrage Movement, demanding the right to vote for women. This year also marks the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment, which gave women that precious right. In addition, 2020 also marks the 55th anniversary of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, which finally gave African Americans their right to vote along with the celebration of the Selma Montgomery March, where Georgia Congressman John Lewis was brutally beaten on the bridge; and
- WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. is a sisterhood of college-educated women
 dedicated to academic excellence and committed to community service; and
- WHEREAS, more than 300,000 women have joined the organization to implement the sorority's mission through its Five Point Programmatic Thrust of Educational Development,

20

LC 121 0169

- 24 Economic Development, Political Awareness and Involvement, Physical and Mental Health,
- 25 and International Awareness and Involvement; and
- 26 WHEREAS, the sorority has more than 1,000 Collegiate and Alumnae Chapters located in
- 27 the United States as well as internationally in Germany, England, Japan, the Virgin Islands,
- 28 Bermuda, the Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea; and

29 WHEREAS, Delta Day at the Georgia State Capitol has instituted the Georganna Sinkfield Servant Leadership Award in recognition of her service as the longest serving female in the 30 31 history of the Georgia General Assembly; the Pota E. Coston Trailblazer Award named for 32 the first African American female commissioner elected in Fayette County, Georgia; and the 33 Social Action Collegiate Change Agent Award awarded to a student actively involved in 34 Student Government Association (SGA) leadership or partner organizations who 35 demonstrates the ability to create change in either the campus or community environment; 36 and

WHEREAS, members of this illustrious sisterhood serve as elected officials, lend support
to various local communities, and lead dialogues on public policy throughout their
communities; and

- WHEREAS, members are committed to initiatives in alignment with the sorority's biennial
 theme of "Joy in our Sisterhood, Power in our Voice and Service in our Heart," which
- 42 encourages the members to continue its legacy of social justice through civic engagement.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
commend Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. for its continued commitment to public service
and its work in making the State of Georgia a better place in which to live and recognize
March 2, 2020, as Delta Day at the state capitol.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to Delta Sigma Theta
Sorority Inc.