24 LC 112 2321

Senate Resolution 736

By: Senators Davenport of the 44th, Butler of the 55th, Anderson of the 43rd, Parent of the 42nd and Jones of the 10th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Congratulating the DeKalb County School System Cedar Grove High School Saints football
- 2 team for winning the 2023 Class 3A Boys State Football Championship; and for other
- 3 purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, the DeKalb County School System is dedicated to developing students
- 5 academically as well as athletically; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the then-No. 2 ranked Cedar Grove High School Saints football team, under
- 7 the direction of Head Coach John Adams, defeated the No. 4 ranked Savannah Christian
- 8 Raiders in a 49-28 victory to win the state 3A football title at the Mercedes-Benz Stadium
- 9 in Atlanta on Wednesday, December 13, 2023; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the Saints pulled away from a 14-14 second quarter tie with four unanswered
- 11 touchdowns to go up 42-14 with 7:01 left in the third quarter, and a 31-yard pass gave the
- 12 Saints the lead for good; and
- WHEREAS, Quarterback EJ Colson finished the game hitting on 11 of 16 passes for 259
- 14 yards and four touchdowns to be named the GPB Player of the Game, and defensive lineman

24 LC 112 2321

15 Chase Kerns anchored the defense with 11 total tackles including two sacks and three

- 16 tackles; and
- 17 WHEREAS, we recognize and commend the members of this remarkable team, including
- 18 Boden Walker, Elliott Colson, Devin Carter, Anthony Booker, Andrew Leslie, Kaiden
- 19 Hambrick, Lakhi Roland, Malachi Miller, Tony Forney, Javari Ramsey, Wesley Brown,
- 20 D'Marcus Clements, Zsewaun Smith, Jeremiah Stallworth, Jakori Kareem, Jordan Christie,
- 21 Lemacio Martin, King Parrom, Jordan Christie (Blue), Joseph Slaughter, Nicholas Hill,
- 22 J'Corey Cox, Keith Bass, DeSean Hendrix, Quentavious Price, Jabborie Bowe, Ma'Khi
- Watson, Marquis Cohen, Jacob Johnson, Nash Johnson, Eli Harris, Tristen Henry, Taharaga
- 24 Scarborough, Deon Burns, Braylon Gilstrap, LeMarcus Parks, Shannon Collier, Russell Alex
- 25 Brock, Gavin Giles, Kingsley Dudley, Xselynce Keith Auston, Neive McNally, Rayquan
- 26 Thompson, Jaidyn Owens, Marketh Bell, Kaden Drake, Jaylen Slaughter, Chase Kerns,
- 27 Javon Beckford, Andre Calhoun, Kyle Mosley, Collin Davis, Cameron Foley, Earnest
- 28 Rankins, Dexttre Mincey, Michael Everett, Cameron Foley (White), Alphonson Dreher,
- 29 Shannon Arrington, Jordan Thornton, Abdul Hawkins, Dominick Reynolds, Tyler Lawrence,
- 30 Corice Spears, Javon Braden, Samarias Turner, Jaylen Thomas, Ryan Worrell, Jasiah
- 31 Johnson, Kareem Cobb, and Waylon Wooten; and
- 32 WHEREAS, we recognize and commend Head Coach John Adams and the members of his
- 33 assistant coach staff: Kendrick Callier, Matthew Dry, Isaiah Cook, Deonta Foxx, Brandon
- 34 Jackson, William Hannah, Terrance Hill, Marlon Moore, Henry Mabry, and Ryan
- 35 Witherspoon; and
- 36 WHEREAS, this state football championship is the fifth state title overall for the Saints
- football program and the fifth in eight seasons, including the 2016, 2018, 2019, and 2021
- 38 state championships; and

24 LC 112 2321

39 WHEREAS, the Cedar Grove Saints win is the 324th state title for the DeKalb County

- 40 School District and Cedar Grove's 13th state title overall; and
- 41 WHEREAS, with this decisive victory, Cedar Grove High School is now home to the first
- 42 DeKalb County football program to win five state titles.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 44 congratulate and acknowledge the great athletic accomplishments of the DeKalb County
- 45 School System Cedar Grove High School Saints football team, having achieved one of the
- 46 highest levels attainable by a high school football program.
- 47 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 48 to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to the Cedar Grove
- 49 High School Saints football team.