Senate Resolution 731

By: Senators Burns of the 23rd, Anderson of the 24th, Echols of the 49th, Williams of the 25th, Summers of the 13th and others

A RESOLUTION

Recognizing and commending the McDuffie/Warren County Unit on being named the
 Georgia Forestry Commission 2023 North Georgia Unit of the Year; the Berrien County Unit
 on being named the 2023 South Georgia Unit of the Year; Forest Protection Area 9 on being
 named the 2023 Forest Protection Area of the Year; and Jason McMullen on being named
 the 2023 Forester of the Year; and for other purposes.

6 WHEREAS, the mission of the Georgia Forestry Commission is "to provide leadership,
7 service and education in the protection and conservation of Georgia's forest resources"; and

8 WHEREAS, due to the outstanding accomplishments of the McDuffie/Warren County Unit, 9 the Berrien County Unit, and Forest Protection Area 9 in 2023 in the areas of forest 10 protection, wildfire prevention and suppression, reforestation and seed collection, community 11 outreach and education, construction and building remodeling, and storm relief efforts, they 12 were selected as the Georgia Forestry Commission's North Georgia Unit of the Year, South 13 Georgia Unit of the Year, and Forest Protection Area of the Year respectively; and

WHEREAS, in further recognition of these remarkable achievements, Jason McMullen was
selected as the Georgia Forestry Commission's Forester of the Year; and

16 WHEREAS, these accomplishments and honors are clear indicators of their dedication and 17 teamwork, their willingness to take on additional responsibilities, and the consistent 18 greatness with which they perform these high level forestry services.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body recognize and commend the McDuffie/Warren County Unit on being named the Georgia Forestry Commission 2023 North Georgia Unit of the Year; the Berrien County Unit on being named the 2023 South Georgia Unit of the Year; Forest Protection Area 9 on being named the 2023 Forest Protection Area of the Year; and Jason McMullen on being named the 2023 Forester of the Year as well as extend best wishes for continued success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to Director Tim
Lowrimore, the public, and the press.