## Senate Resolution 672

By: Senators Black of the 8th, Beach of the 21st, Gooch of the 51st, Brass of the 28th and Wilkinson of the 50th

## A RESOLUTION

1 Commending the 4-H Clubs of Georgia, Mr. Mason McClintock, Mr. Arch D. Smith, and the

2 2017-2018 4-H Leadership Team, and recognizing February 1, 2018, as 4-H Day at the state

- 3 capitol; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to

5 become champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people

6 of Georgia; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Mason McClintock of Bacon County serves with distinction and dedication
as state 4-H Club president; and

9 WHEREAS, Mr. Arch D. Smith of the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension has

10 worked diligently as director and state 4-H leader with the 4-H Clubs throughout Georgia;

11 and

WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of Jordan Daniels of Tift County,Andy Martin of Emanuel County, Avery Ray of Gwinnett County, and Bo Wheeler of

14 Stephens County as district presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H membership

15 through their election of these young people to serve in 2017-2018; and

WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of Ashley
Johnson of Chatham County, Lora Nedza of Oconee County, Kyle Sellers of Columbia
County, and Zach Tellano of Hart County was recognized in Washington, D.C., at the 2017
National 4-H Conference; and

20 WHEREAS, Ben Murray of Berrien County and Sophia Rodriguez of Liberty County were

21 named 2017 Leadership in Action winners; and

18

- 22 WHEREAS, Dalton Green of Walker County, Lauren Pike of Walker County, Kyle Sellers
- 23 of Columbia County, Hamp Thomas of Chattooga County, Tyler Tucker of Ben Hill County,
- 24 and Kiana Washington of Oconee County were named state winners in the 2017 Dean's
- 25 Awards competition; and
- 26 WHEREAS, Amelia Day of Houston County was selected as winner of the 2017 National
- 27 Youth in Action Award for Citizenship and as overall winner of the 2017 National Youth in
- 28 Action Award; and
- 29 WHEREAS, Sara Faulk, Davis Grimsley, Marisa Hutchens, and Hannah Moseley of
- 30 Bleckley County were declared the 2017 National Winning Team in the Consumer Decisions
- 31 Contest; and
- WHEREAS, Tyler Tucker of Ben Hill County was named 2017 National Winner in theFamily and Consumer Sciences Demonstration Contest.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body recognize February 1, 2018, as 4-H Day at the state capitol and commend the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 4-H Program, Mr. Mason McClintock, Mr. Arch D. Smith, and each of the state 4-H club presidents, national delegates, and national award recipients, and commend them for their numerous accomplishments and committed leadership in 4-H programs throughout the State of Georgia.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to the University of
Georgia Cooperative Extension.