Senate Resolution 669

By: Senators Heath of the 31st, Harbin of the 16th, Harper of the 7th, Tillery of the 19th, Hill of the 4th and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing February 13, 2018, as the 6th Annual Legislative Fly-In at the state capitol and
- 2 commending the Georgia Airports Association and its leadership; and for other purposes.
- WHEREAS, Georgia's airport system is an extremely important and valuable transportation
 resource for this state's residents, businesses, and visitors; and
- 5 WHEREAS, the mission of the Georgia Airports Association is "to provide, develop, and 6 expand a safe and efficient airports system to meet the future economic growth of Georgia
- 7 through the full implementation of the State Aviation System Plan"; and

8 WHEREAS, the State Aviation System Plan recognizes that airports are an indispensable 9 component of this state's total transportation system that strongly supports this state's 10 economy; and

WHEREAS, Georgia Airports Association President Kevin Britton, past President Jason Pinnix, Vice President Tom Strong, Treasurer Mike Mathews, Legislative Chair Mario Evans, and Secretary Lenard Robinson have diligently and conscientiously worked to obtain the maximum amount of financial support they can for every airport in Georgia, regardless of size or type; and

WHEREAS, the Georgia Airports Association's expansive networking organization provides a forum where questions can be asked and where answers and documents can be shared by individuals, allowing smaller airfields to accomplish much more in a limited period of time with the money and resources available; and

WHEREAS, it is abundantly fitting and proper to recognize the vital role that these airports play in connecting their areas to the aviation system for their region, this state, and the nation.

- 23 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- recognize February 13, 2018, as the 6th Annual Legislative Fly-In at the state capitol and
- 25 commend the Georgia Airports Association and its leadership, Kevin Britton, Jason Pinnix,
- 26 Tom Strong, Mike Mathews, Mario Evans, Jim Galloway, Robert Mohl, Kim Wade, Lenard
- 27 Robinson, Robert Burr, and Phil Cannon for their dedicated service to the State of Georgia.
- 28 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 29 to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to the Georgia
- 30 Airports Association.