A RESOLUTION

Commending Delandra Vinson, Jasmine Bradfield, Nyasha Bonner, Sarah Henderson,
 Crystal Hanner, Tracy Goddard-Johnson, Rachel Hart, Rhonda Nar Sanders, Melissa Renae
 Burgess, Paige Beckett, Beverly Maria Cranford, Tamara Taitt, Anjli Hinman, Marsha Ford,
 Kaci Griffin, Bethany Erby, Janisa Camille Simmons, Teri Boles, Stephanie Crunk, Meka
 Hall, and Morgan Karaj and recognizing February 21, 2024, as Certified Community
 Midwife Day at the state capitol; and for other purposes.

7 WHEREAS, Delandra Vinson, Jasmine Bradfield, Nyasha Bonner, Sarah Henderson, Crystal 8 Hanner, Tracy Goddard-Johnson, Rachel Hart, Rhonda Nar Sanders, Melissa Renae Burgess, 9 Paige Beckett, Beverly Maria Cranford, Tamara Taitt, Anjli Hinman, Marsha Ford, Kaci 10 Griffin, Bethany Erby, Janisa Camille Simmons, Teri Boles, Stephanie Crunk, Meka Hall, 11 and Morgan Karaj have long been recognized by their peers and citizens of this state for their 12 major accomplishments and essential roles as community midwives, community health 13 workers, and doulas as well as their commitment to better outcomes for maternal child 14 health; and

WHEREAS, they have intentionally adapted and/or have been pioneers of best practices with countless hours dedicated to their community across Georgia, which has the highest rates of maternal and infant morbidity and death. They have proven to have the best outcomes for

24

18 mothers. They have all, in their own way and by their own experiences, paved the way for 19 future community midwives and birth workers by creating educational programs, services, 20 and models of care that improve outcomes and reduce the risks of premature birth and infant 21 and maternal morbidity and mortality; and

WHEREAS, they have earned distinction and recognition for their outstanding work in
community midwifery and are honorary recipients of the Certified Community MidwifeTM
by endorsement, Certified Community Birth AssistantTM, or Certified Community DoulaTM
by endorsement for their years of dedicated service, skills and competency, and unyielding
compassion for humanity; and

WHEREAS, the hallmarks of community midwifery emphasize community-based interpersonal relationships, health promotion with preventive care, health education, continuity care, recognition of abnormalities in early stages, and skillful communication with a collaborative health care team, such as physicians, mid-level providers, and specialists; and

WHEREAS, this nation has a centuries-old history of midwives giving conscientious care to the women in their communities and evidence of better outcomes than physicians and hospital providers for low-risk women; and

WHEREAS, through the ages, there have been revered community-chosen midwivesthroughout the world; and

WHEREAS, it is most appropriate to honor these remarkable individuals for their
outstanding work in modeling to this great state how to keep low-risk mothers and babies
low-risk and safe from harm during the childbearing year.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
commend Delandra Vinson, Jasmine Bradfield, Nyasha Bonner, Sarah Henderson, Crystal
Hanner, Tracy Goddard-Johnson, Rachel Hart, Rhonda Nar Sanders, Melissa Renae Burgess,
Paige Beckett, Beverly Maria Cranford, Tamara Taitt, Anjli Hinman, Marsha Ford, Kaci
Griffin, Bethany Erby, Janisa Camille Simmons, Teri Boles, Stephanie Crunk, Meka Hall,
and Morgan Karaj as well as recognize February 21, 2024, as Certified Community Midwife
Day at the state capitol.

46 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed

- 47 to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to the public and the
- 48 press.