15 LC 108 0634

Senate Resolution 574

By: Senator Shafer of the 48th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the faculty, staff, and students of Taylor Road Middle School; and for other
- 2 purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, Taylor Road Middle School maintains a legacy of excellence in educating
- 4 young people in its community; and
- 5 WHEREAS, on January 13, 2015, Taylor Road Middle School held a school-wide spelling
- 6 bee won by Rajat Sethi, and this dedicated student represented Taylor Road Middle School
- 7 in the county spelling bee on February 7, 2015; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the Taylor Road Middle School Reading Bowl Team earned third place in this
- 9 year's Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl competition, which was held on January 24, 2015; and
- 10 WHEREAS, sixth-grader Jerome Perera won the Taylor Road Middle School Geography Bee
- on January 15, 2015, after competing against all of the classroom bee winners; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Taylor Road Middle School student Robert Hunter won a Silver Key and two
- 13 honorable mentions for his paintings in the 2015 Scholastic Art and Writing Awards; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Sarah Guan, an eighth grader at Taylor Road Middle School, won an honorable
- 15 mention for her painting at the 2015 Scholastic Art and Writing Awards; and
- 16 WHEREAS, the students of Taylor Road Middle School are receiving a strong scholastic
- 17 foundation upon which they can continue to grow for their entire lives due to the dedication
- and determination of the faculty and staff at this school, and great success is surely in these
- 19 young people's futures.
- 20 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 21 commend the students, faculty, and staff of Taylor Road Middle School and congratulate

15 LC 108 0634

22 Rajat Sethi, the Taylor Road Middle School Reading Bowl Team, Jerome Perera, Robert

- Hunter, and Sarah Guan for their distinguished accomplishments.
- 24 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 25 to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to Taylor Road Middle
- 26 School, Rajat Sethi, Jerome Perera, Robert Hunter, and Sarah Guan.