22 LC 112 0865

Senate Resolution 372

By: Senators Kirkpatrick of the 32nd, Tippins of the 37th, Tate of the 38th, Thompson of the 14th and Rhett of the 33rd

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending Leadership Cobb and the Leadership Cobb Class of 2022; and for other
- 2 purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb was founded in 1983 by a nucleus of leaders in order to train
- 4 a new group of leaders to guide Cobb County's future; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb owes a special debt of gratitude to its founders, Harris Hines,
- 6 Johnny Isakson, Phil Sanders, and Jay Whorton; their vision for Cobb County; and the Cobb
- 7 County Chamber of Commerce for its continued support of the program; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb, from hundreds of qualified applications, selected only 50
- 9 diverse and exceptionally qualified individuals for the Class of 2022 to provide a learning
- 10 environment that enhances personal and professional growth designed to benefit the
- individual, their local community, and the entire Atlanta region; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the time commitment includes eight full-day sessions from September to May,
- 13 four evening sessions, and two three-day retreats, as well as time to attend Spotlight on
- 14 Leadership programs, participation in community engagement, homework to prepare for

22 LC 112 0865

15 upcoming sessions, and a graduation ceremony, all of which requires serious dedication but

- 16 helps the participants become more engaged citizens; and
- 17 WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Class of 2022 is led by Leadership Cobb Alumni Wendy
- 18 Bunch, Matt Teague, Sam Olens, and Holly Quinlan, with assistance from Michele Howard
- 19 and Kai Lawrence from the Cobb County Chamber of Commerce, and dozens of alumni who
- 20 volunteer for committees to plan each program day; and
- 21 WHEREAS, the class further includes members Jeremy Abernathy, Waseem Ahmed, Callie
- 22 Andrews, Odessa Archibald, Daneea Badio-McCray, Eric Baker, Maranie Brown, Scott
- 23 Bryant, Ross Cannon, Cynthia Cox, Nick Dawe, Kris Delaney, Allie Donahue, T.J.
- 24 Ferguson, Jessica Gill, Sonya Grant, Karen Hill, Latonia P. Hines, Luci Hogue, Bridges
- 25 Holmes, Marty Hughes, Tre' Hutchins, Wes Jackson, Drew Kelley, Nicole Lawson, Alan
- Levine, Brad Meriwether, Brendan Murphy, Titus Nichols, Matt Patterson, Tricia Patterson,
- 27 Katie Pearson, Lori Phillips, Brian Sanders, Kerri Sauer, Wes Smith, Earl Smith, Shawn
- 28 Strohpaul, Debbie Thatch, Roz Tucker, Sasha Ugi, Felicia Wagner, Becky Westenberger, Jud
- 29 Whitney, Eric Widner, Thomas Williams, Kimberly Williamson, and David Younker; and
- 30 WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Politics Day Committee composed of Leadership Cobb
- 31 alumni, Julia Ayers, Phillip Beggs, Jennifer Bennett, Ross Cavitt, Andrew Dill, Judge Ann
- 32 Harris, Judge Kellie Hill, Joyette Holmes, Julie Jacobs, Bob Ott, Michael Owens, Tammi
- 33 Saddler Jones, Jason Saliba, Amanda Seals, Greg Shenton, Jason Shepherd, Kimberly Sherk,
- and Judge Kelli Wolk led by co-chairs State Representative Teri Anulewicz and Bert Reeves
- 35 have put together a program wherein the Leadership Cobb Class of 2022 will spend January
- 36 19, 2022, learning more about how their government works and operates, better equipping
- 37 them to be even more engaged citizens; and

22 LC 112 0865

38 WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Class of 2022's motto, "All Access, Access All," will

- 39 ensure that the lessons the class takes away from their Leadership Cobb experience will
- 40 allow them to approach the future and see clearly their role in creating a better Cobb County
- 41 community.
- 42 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 43 commend Leadership Cobb and the members of the Leadership Cobb Class of 2022 for their
- 44 dedication to community service and their commitment to improving opportunities for local
- 45 citizens.
- 46 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 47 to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to Leadership Cobb
- and the Leadership Cobb Class of 2022.