## A RESOLUTION

1 Congratulating the Dade County High School Lady Wolverines softball team on their 2012

2 AA State Softball Championship; and for other purposes.

- 3 WHEREAS, the Dade County High School Lady Wolverines, consisting of Kaylee Cravey,
- 4 Haley Keesler, Ali Birchfield, Faith Gregg, Natalie Wallin, Cari Pierce, Macayla Ginn,

5 Madison Gossett, Hailey Gass, Autumn Smith, Grace Minor, Maddie Castleberry, Madison

6 Lacy, Carly Stephens, Alyson Smart, Summer Stevens, Morgan Lacy, and Sydney Vaughn,

7 had a Cinderella finish to their 2012 season and defeated Wesleyan in an 8-4 win for the state

8 championship; and

9 WHEREAS, the Lady Wolverines surprised everyone by being a serious contender to tough

- 10 challengers early in the tournament, and ended up facing Wesleyan in the winner's bracket
- 11 final; and

12 WHEREAS, with Wesleyan claiming the first game, the Lady Wolverines answered back,

13 with Hailey Gass hitting a spectacular grand slam home run to seal the second state

- 14 championship in the school's history; and
- 15 WHEREAS, under the leadership of Coaches Christine Core and Autumn Sigler, the Lady
- 16 Wolverines softball team displayed exemplary perseverance, character, and sportsmanship
- 17 in finishing their 2012 season with a record of 22 wins and 13 losses; and
- 18 WHEREAS, the Dade County Lady Wolverines softball team have shown themselves to be
- 19 worthy representatives of Georgia in state competition; and
- 20 WHEREAS, the Lady Wolverines continue to be an inspiration and an asset to Georgia and
- 21 the Dade County community.

- 22 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the Dade County High
- 23 School Lady Wolverines softball team is congratulated as 2012 AA State Softball
- 24 Champions.
- 25 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 26 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the Dade County High School Lady
- 27 Wolverines softball team.