15 LC 108 0032

Senate Resolution 22

By: Senators Tolleson of the 20th, Wilkinson of the 50th, Harper of the 7th, Black of the 8th, Kirk of the 13th and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the 4-H Clubs of Georgia; recognizing February 23, 2015, as 4-H Day at the
- 2 capitol; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 4 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of
- 5 Georgia; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Mr. Ben Hancock of Irwin County serves with distinction and dedication as
- 7 State 4-H President; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Mr. Arch D. Smith of the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension and
- 9 State 4-H Leader has worked diligently with the 4-H Clubs throughout Georgia; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of Dalton Bowie of Butts County,
- 11 Devin Thornton of DeKalb County, Tyler Wagner of Jenkins County, and Ben Lord of Ben
- 12 Hill County as District Presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H membership in their
- election of each of these young people to serve as president for 2014-2015; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of
- 15 Jasmine Render of Clayton County, Hannah Rull of Paulding County, Bailey Dickinson of
- 16 Stephens County, and Jacob Rowland of Toombs County were recognized in Washington,
- 17 D.C., at the 2014 National 4-H Conference; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Kirsten Morris of Chatham County and Janna Brown of Pulaski County were
- 19 named 2014 Leadership in Action Winners; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Morgan Anne Pippin of Evans County, Drew Bellflower of Bleckley County,
- 21 Thomas Gilbert of Bartow County, Brooks Saye of Oconee County, and Sunnie Dee Wynn
- of Thomas County were named state winners in the 2014 Dean's Awards competition; and

15 LC 108 0032

23 WHEREAS, Hannah Mosely of Bleckley County was declared champion of the 2014

- 24 National 4-H Egg Preparation Demonstration Contest at the National 4-H Poultry and Egg
- 25 Conference in Louisville, Kentucky; and
- 26 WHEREAS, Sam Payne of Bartow County won first place at the National 4-H Shooting
- 27 Sports Invitational in Grand Island, Nebraska.
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 29 commend the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 4-H
- 30 Program; Mr. Ben Hancock, State 4-H Club President; Mr. Arch D. Smith, State 4-H Leader;
- and each of the 2014-2015 4-H district presidents; 2014 Dean's Awards winners; 2014
- 32 National 4-H Conference delegates; 2014 Leadership in Action winners; 2014 National 4-H
- 33 Egg Preparation Demonstration Contest winner; 2014 National Shooting Sports Invitational
- 34 First Place winner for their numerous accomplishments and for the leadership that they have
- 35 demonstrated; and recognize February 23, 2015, as 4-H Day at the capitol.
- 36 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 37 to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to the University of
- 38 Georgia Cooperative Extension.