Senate Resolution 123

By: Senators Butler of the 55th, Seay of the 34th, Halpern of the 39th, Davenport of the 44th, Jackson of the 41st and others

A RESOLUTION

1 Commending Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. for its 108 years of service and recognizing 2 March 11, 2021, as Delta Day at the state capitol; and for other purposes.

3 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. is a public service organization founded on

4 January 13, 1913, by 22 visionary collegiate women at Howard University in Washington,

5 D.C.; and

6 WHEREAS, the founding members included Osceola Macarthy Adams, Marguerite Young 7 Alexander, Winona Cargile Alexander, Ethel Cuff Black, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Zephyr 8 Chisom Carter, Edna Brown Coleman, Jessie McGuire Dent, Frederica Chase Dodd, Myra 9 Davis Hemmings, Olive Jones, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Pauline Oberdorfer Minor, Vashti 10 Turley Murphy, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Mamie Reddy Rose, Eliza P. Shippen, Florence 11 Letcher Toms, Ethel Carr Watson, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Madree Penn White, and Edith 12 Motte Young; and

13 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. is a sisterhood of college educated women

14 dedicated to academic excellence and committed to community service; and

21

WHEREAS, more than 350,000 women have joined the organization to implement the sorority's mission through its five point programmatic thrust of educational development, economic development, political awareness and involvement, physical and mental health, and international awareness and involvement; and

WHEREAS, the sorority has 1,058 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the United
States as well as internationally, including Germany, England, Japan, the Virgin Islands,
Bermuda, the Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea; and

22 WHEREAS, Delta Days at Georgia State Capitol has instituted the Georganna Sinkfield 23 Servant Leadership Award in recognition of her service as the longest serving female in the 24 history of the Georgia General Assembly; the Pota E. Coston Trailblazer Award, named for the first African American female commissioner elected in Fayette County, Georgia; and the 25 26 Social Action Collegiate Change Agent Award, which is awarded to a student actively 27 involved in student government association leadership or partner organizations who 28 demonstrates the ability to create change in either the campus or community environment; 29 and

30 WHEREAS, members of this illustrious sisterhood serve as elected officials, lend support 31 to various local communities, and lead dialogues on public policy throughout their 32 communities; and

WHEREAS, members are committed to initiatives in alignment with its quadrennial theme of "joy in our sisterhood, power in our voice, and service in our heart," compelling the members to continue its legacy of social justice through civic engagement.

> S. R. 123 - 2 -

- 36 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 37 commend the efforts of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. for its continued commitment to
- 38 public service and its work in making the State of Georgia a better place in which to live and
- 39 recognize March 11, 2021, as Delta Day at the state capitol.
- 40 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 41 to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to Delta Sigma Theta
- 42 Sorority Inc.