21 LC 122 0105

Senate Resolution 117

By: Senators Seay of the 34th, Davenport of the 44th, Halpern of the 39th, Orrock of the 36th, Harrell of the 40th and others

ADOPTED SENATE

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending the Democratic Party of Clayton County and the Young
- 2 Democrats of Clayton County; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, the members of the Clayton County Democratic Party are under the capable
- 4 leadership of Chairperson Larry W. Bussey, 1st Vice Chair Janice Scott, 2nd Vice Chair
- 5 Sukari Scott Johnson, Secretary Jodie Chambers, Treasurer Dr. Maria Thompson, and
- 6 Parliamentarian Charles Bivens; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the honorable members of the Young Democrats of Clayton County, including
- 8 Sukari Scott Johnson, Alaina Reeves, Jasmine Bowles, Eric Bell, Alfred Dixon, Junior
- 9 Jackson, Mark Fields, Nkosi Belle, MJ Seaberry, and Crystal Greer, collaborated with
- 10 organizers like Felicia Davis to register, educate, and mobilize voters; and
- 11 WHEREAS, the Clayton County organizations, located in North Georgia, had the support
- 12 from senators Valencia Seay and Gail Davenport in their noble efforts to empower voters;
- 13 and
- 14 WHEREAS, the Clayton County Democratic Party is one of the most populous among all
- 15 the counties in the state; and

21 LC 122 0105

16 WHEREAS, President Joseph Biden received over 85 percent of the votes in Clayton

- 17 County; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Shanna Dozier, the director of the county's board of elections, was committed
- 19 to ensuring a fair and accurate ballot count; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Clayton County has the honorable distinction of sending two United States
- 21 senators to Washington, D.C., Reverend Raphael Warnock and Jon Ossoff.
- 22 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 23 recognize and commend the Democratic Party of Clayton County and the Young Democrats
- of Clayton County for their efficient, effective, and dedicated service to the State of Georgia.
- 25 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 26 to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to the public and the
- press.