The House Committee on Intragovernmental Coordination - Local Legislation offers the following substitute to SB 391:

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

To amend an Act creating the Board of Commissioners of Jeff Davis County, approved March 25, 1958 (Ga. L. 1958, p. 3288), as amended, particularly by an Act approved April 4, 2012 (Ga. L. 2012, p. 4672), so as to change the description of the commissioner districts; to provide for definitions and inclusions; to provide for continuation in office of current members; to provide for election and terms of office of subsequent members; to provide for related matters; to provide for effective dates; to repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes.

- 8 BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA:
- 9

SECTION 1.

An Act creating the Board of Commissioners of Jeff Davis County, approved March 25,
11 1958 (Ga. L. 1958, p. 3288), as amended, particularly by an Act approved April 4, 2012 (Ga.

L. 2012, p. 4672), is amended in subsection (a) of Section 1A by revising paragraphs (3)
through (6) and repealing paragraph (7) as follows:

"(3) For the purpose of electing members of the board of commissioners, Jeff Davis
County shall be divided into five commissioner districts. One member of the board shall
be elected from each such district by majority vote of the qualified voters residing within

S. B. 391 (SUB) - 1 - such commissioner district. The five commissioner districts shall be and correspond to
those five numbered districts described in Appendix A attached to and made a part of this
Act and further identified as 'User: Jeff Davis Co. Plan Name: JeffDavisCCSB-2022 Plan
Type: Local'.

21 (4) For the purposes of such plan:

(A) The term 'VTD' shall mean and describe the same geographical boundaries as
provided in the report of the Bureau of the Census for the United States decennial
census of 2020 for the State of Georgia. The separate numeric designations in a district
description which are underneath a VTD heading shall mean and describe individual
Blocks within a VTD as provided in the report of the Bureau of the Census for the
United States decennial census of 2020 for the State of Georgia; and

(B) Except as otherwise provided in the description of any district, whenever the
description of any district refers to a named city, it shall mean the geographical
boundaries of that city as shown on the census maps for the United States decennial
census of 2020 for the State of Georgia.

32 (5) Any part of Jeff Davis County which is not included in any district described in
33 paragraph (3) of subsection (a) of this section shall be included within that district
34 contiguous to such part which contains the least population according to the United States
35 decennial census of 2020 for the State of Georgia.

(6) Any part of Jeff Davis County which is described in subsection (a) of this section as
being included in a particular district shall nevertheless not be included within such
district if such part is not contiguous to such district. Such noncontiguous part shall
instead be included within that district contiguous to such part which contains the least
population according to the United States decennial census of 2020 for the State of
Georgia."

S. B. 391 (SUB) - 2 -

42	SECTION 2.
43	(a) Those members of the Board of Commissioners of Jeff Davis County who are serving
44	as such on the effective date of this Act and any person selected to fill a vacancy in any such
45	office shall continue to serve as such members until the regular expiration of their respective
46	terms of office and upon the election and qualification of their respective successors.
47	(b) Commissioner Districts 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5, as they exist immediately prior to the effective
48	date of this Act, shall continue to be designated as Commissioner Districts 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5,
49	respectively, but as newly described under this Act, and on and after the effective date of this
50	Act, such members of the board serving from those former commissioner districts shall be
51	deemed to be serving from and representing their respective districts as newly described
52	under this Act.

LC 50 0330S

53

SECTION 3.

54 The provisions of this Act necessary to conduct elections for the members of the Board of 55 Commissioners of Jeff Davis County in 2022 shall become effective upon the approval of 56 this Act by the Governor or upon its becoming law without such approval. The remaining 57 provisions of this Act shall become effective on January 1, 2023.

58

SECTION 4.

59 All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are repealed.

60

APPENDIX A

- 61 User: Jeff Davis Co.
- 62 Plan Name: JeffDavisCCSB-2022
- 63 Plan Type: Local
- 64 District 001
- 65 County Jeff Davis GA
- 66 VTD HAZLEHURST
- 67 VTD OCMULGEE 1
- 68 Block 960201:
- 69
 3010
 3011
 3012
 3013
 3023
 3024
 3025
 3026
 3036
 3037
- 70 District 002
- 71 County Jeff Davis GA
- 72 VTD ALTAMAHA 1
- 73 VTD ALTAMAHA 2
- 74 District 003
- 75 County Jeff Davis GA
- 76 VTD BLACKBURN 1
- 77 Block 960101:

 78
 1000
 1001
 1002
 1003
 1004
 1005
 1006
 1007
 1008
 1009
 1010
 1011

 79
 1012
 1013
 1014
 1015
 1016
 1017
 1018
 1019
 1020
 1021
 1022
 1023

S. B. 391 (SUB) - 4 -

	22 LC 50 033										C 50 0330S	
80	1024	1025	1026	1027	1028	1029	1030	1031	1032	1033	1034	1035
81	1036	1037	1038	1039	1040	1045	1046	1047	1048	1049	1050	1051
82	1052	1053	1112	1114	2038	2039	2040	2041	2042	2043	2044	2047
83	2048	2051										
84	Block 960102:											
85	3045	3046	3047	3048	3049	3050	3054	3055	3056	3057	3058	3059
86	3060	3061	3062	3067	3070	3071	3078	3079	3085	3086	3087	3088
87	3089											
88	VTD BLACKBURN 2											
89	District 004											
89 90	County Je		is GA									
91	VTD BI			1								
92	Block			1								
93				2006	2007	2016	2017	2018	2019	2021	2027	2028
94	Block								_ • _ /			
95	3064	3065	3072	3073	3074	3076	3080	3081	3082	3083		
96	3064 3065 3072 3073 3074 3076 3080 3081 3082 3083 VTD WHITEHEAD 1											
97	VTD W	HITEH	IEAD 2	2								
98	Block 960300:											
99	1017	1020	1021	1022	1023	1024	1025	1026	1027	1028	1029	1030
100	1031	1041	1042	1047	1048	1049	1057	1062	2000	2001	2002	2003
101	2004	2005	2006	2007	2008	2009	2012	2013	2014	2015	2016	2017
102	2018	2019	2020	2021	2022	2023	2024	2025	2026	2027	2028	2029
103	2030	2031	2032	2033	2034	2035	2036	2037	2038	2039	2040	2041
104	2042	2043	2049	2050	2051	2052	2053	2054	2055	2056	2057	2058

S. B. 391 (SUB) - 5 -

105	2059	2060	2061	2062	2063	2064	2065	2066	2067	2068	2069	2070
106	2071	2072	2073	2074	2075	2076	2077	2078	2079	2080	2081	2082
107	2083	2084	2085	2086	2087	2088	2089	2090	2091	2092	2093	2094
108	2095	2096	2097	2098	2101	2102	2103	2104	2105	2106	2107	2108
109	2109	2110	2111	2112	2113	2128	2129					

- 110 District 005
- 111 County Jeff Davis GA
- 112 VTD OCMULGEE 1
- 113 Block 960201:

 114
 2000
 2001
 2002
 2003
 2004
 2005
 2006
 2007
 2008
 2009
 2010
 2011

 115
 2012
 2013
 2014
 2015
 2016
 2017
 2019
 2023
 2024
 2025
 2026
 2027

 116
 2028
 2029
 2030
 2031
 2032
 2043
 2057
 3014
 3015
 3016
 3017
 3018

 117
 3019
 3020
 3021
 3022
 3027
 3028
 3029
 3030
 3031
 3032
 3033
 3034

 118
 Block 960202:

119101010111012101310141016101710381039104010411042120200020012002200320042015201620172018201920202021121202220232024202520262027

- 122 VTD OCMULGEE 2
- 123 VTD WHITEHEAD 2
- 124 Block 960300:
- $125 \qquad 1050 \ 1052 \ 1053 \ 1054 \ 1055 \ 1056 \ 1058 \ 1059 \ 1060 \ 1061 \ 1063 \ 1064$
- 126 1065 2099 2100