13 LC 21 1994S (SCS)

Senate Bill 25

By: Senators Staton of the 18th and Jones of the 25th

AS PASSED SENATE

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

- 1 To amend an Act entitled "An Act to provide for the restructuring of the government of the
- 2 City of Macon, the City of Payne City, and Bibb County," approved April 20, 2012 (Ga. L.
- 3 2012, p. 5595), so as to provide for nonpartisan elections of the mayor and commissioners;
- 4 to repeal conflicting laws; and for other purposes.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA:

6 SECTION 1.

- 7 An Act entitled "An Act to provide for the restructuring of the government of the City of
- 8 Macon, the City of Payne City, and Bibb County," approved April 20, 2012 (Ga. L. 2012,
- 9 p. 5595), is amended by revising subsection (c) of Section 9 to read as follows:
- 10 "(c) The commission shall consist of nine members. The initial commissioners shall be
- elected at a nonpartisan election held on the third Tuesday in July, 2013, for terms of three
- 12 years and until their successors are duly elected and qualified. Their successors shall be
- 13 elected in nonpartisan elections for terms of four years and shall take office on the first day
- 14 of January immediately following the date of the election. The members shall be elected
- 15 from the nine districts specified in subsection (a) of this section by a majority of electors
- voting in such election from such district. All members of the commission shall be full
- 17 voting members of the commission. The mayor shall be the presiding officer of the
- 18 commission but shall not be a voting member of the commission; provided, however, that
- 19 the mayor may cast a vote on any matter before the commission to break a tie. The mayor
- 20 may propose ordinances in the same manner as a commissioner."
- SECTION 2.
- 22 Said Act is further amended by revising subsections (b) and (d) of Section 10 to read as
- 23 follows:

5

- 24 "(b) The initial mayor shall be elected in a nonpartisan election to be held on the third
- 25 Tuesday in July, 2013. Candidates shall be elected by majority vote as provided in this

13 LC 21 1994S (SCS)

26 section. The person elected as mayor at such election shall take office on the second 27 Tuesday of January, 2014, for an initial term of three years and until a successor is elected 28 and qualified. Thereafter, each successor to the office of mayor shall be elected at the 29 general nonpartisan election to be held on the third Tuesday in July immediately preceding the expiration of a term of office, shall take office on the first day of January immediately 30 31 following the date of the election, and shall have a term of office of four years and until a 32 successor is elected and qualified. The mayor shall be elected by a majority vote on a county-wide basis by the electors of the entire county." 33 34 "(d) Except as otherwise provided in this section, all elections for the mayor and members of the commission shall be in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 2 of Title 21 of the 35 O.C.G.A., the 'Georgia Election Code,' as now or hereafter amended. Any person who is a 36 registered voter of Macon-Bibb County shall be eligible to vote in any election under this 37 section." 38

39 **SECTION 3.**

40 All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are repealed.