23 LC 112 1172

House Resolution 64

By: Representatives Anulewicz of the 42<sup>nd</sup>, Seabaugh of the 34<sup>th</sup>, Carson of the 46<sup>th</sup>, Ehrhart of the 36<sup>th</sup>, Stoner of the 40<sup>th</sup>, and others

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending Leadership Cobb and the Leadership Cobb Class of 2023; and for other
- 2 purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb was founded in 1983 by a nucleus of leaders in order to train
- 4 a new group of leaders to guide Cobb County's future; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb owes a special debt of gratitude to its founders, Harris Hines,
- 6 Johnny Isakson, Phil Sanders, and Jay Whorton; their vision for Cobb County; and the Cobb
- 7 County Chamber of Commerce for its continued support of the program; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb, from hundreds of qualified applications, selected only 50
- 9 diverse and exceptionally qualified individuals for the Class of 2023 to provide a learning
- 10 environment that enhances personal and professional growth designed to benefit the
- individual, their local community, and the entire Atlanta region; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the time commitment includes eight full-day sessions from September to May,
- 13 four evening sessions, and two three-day retreats, as well as time to attend Spotlight on
- 14 Leadership programs, participation in community engagement, homework to prepare for

23 LC 112 1172

15 upcoming sessions, and a graduation ceremony, all of which requires serious dedication but

- 16 helps the participants become more engaged citizens; and
- 17 WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Class of 2023 is led by Leadership Cobb alumni, including
- 18 chairs Sam Olens and Holly Quinlan as well as vice chairs Betsy Madrerohon and Brian
- 19 Marcos, with assistance from Michele Howard and Kai Lawrence from the Cobb County
- 20 Chamber of Commerce and dozens of alumni who volunteer for committees to plan each
- 21 program day; and
- 22 WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Class of 2023 includes members Val Akopov, Alex
- 23 Almodovar, Tiffany Barney, Megan Benvenuto, Chris Britton, Flynn Broady, Daniel
- 24 Browne, Ann Burris, Stacey Chapman, Robin Cheramie, Braxton Cotton, Stephanie Cox,
- 25 Michael Cunningham, Chad Curry, Ross Dicken II, Joy Doss, Corey Ferguson, Lara Ferreira,
- 26 Marla Ferrell, Lynn Flanders, Matt Giddens, Joseph Goldstein, Michael Gordon, Tim Gould,
- 27 Christopher Hansard, Ashley Jenkins, Bobby Johnson, Sheree Knowles, Jessica Lee, Joseph
- 28 Malbrough, Taneesha Marshall, Felicia McDade, Tamie Montgomery, Komal Patel, Drew
- 29 Raessler, Taylor Rambo, Amy Reeves, Adam Ross, Mike Schroeder, Monique Sheffield,
- 30 Jennifer Stanley, Falecia Stewart, Sean Stewart, Lydia Stinson, Lisa Sunday, Andrea
- 31 TheoJohn, Chris Thomas, Dennette Thornton, Hillary Thrower, Aimee Turner, Michael
- 32 Urbina, Bobby Van Buren, Chris Young, and Katherine Zitch; and
- 33 WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Politics Day Committee composed of Leadership Cobb
- 34 alumni Teri Anulewicz, Julia Ayers, Phillip Beggs, Chuck Boring, Jessica Gill, Kellie Hill,
- 35 Wes Jackson, Karyn Matthews, John Moeller, Jason Saliba, Devan Seabaugh, Amanda Seals,
- Jason M. Shepherd, and Sasha Ugi and led by co-chairs Bert Reeves and Carmen Chubb has
- put together a program where the Leadership Cobb Class of 2023 will spend January 18,

23 LC 112 1172

38 2023, learning more about how their government works and operates, better equipping them

- 39 to be even more engaged citizens; and
- 40 WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Class of 2023's motto, "Together We Can," will ensure
- 41 that the lessons the class takes away from their Leadership Cobb experience will allow them
- 42 to approach the future and see clearly their role in creating a better Cobb County community.
- 43 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 44 the members of this body commend Leadership Cobb and the members of the Leadership
- 45 Cobb Class of 2023 for their dedication to community service and their commitment to
- 46 improving opportunities for local citizens.
- 47 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 48 and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to
- 49 Leadership Cobb and the Leadership Cobb Class of 2023.