House Resolution 552

By: Representatives Martin of the 49<sup>th</sup>, Scoggins of the 14<sup>th</sup>, Barrett of the 24<sup>th</sup>, Bentley of the 150<sup>th</sup>, and Park of the 107<sup>th</sup>

## A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending University System of Georgia Outstanding Scholars on

2 Academic Recognition Day for 2023; and for other purposes.

WHEREAS, Academic Recognition Day celebrates academic achievement and recognition of those students who exemplify what is best about the University System of Georgia, the units of which enhance the intellectual, economic, social, civic, and cultural well-being of the entire state through dedicated teaching and research and excellence in learning; and

7 WHEREAS, the following students, each of whom has demonstrated excellence in academic 8 achievement and personal development, have been recognized as University System of 9 Georgia Outstanding Scholars representing their respective institutions for 2023: Karli Paige 10 Williams, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College; Adia Sakura-Lemessy, Albany State 11 University; Francisco H. Romero, Atlanta Metropolitan State College; Joseph McElmurray, 12 Augusta University; Katie Patrick, Clayton State University; Beau Teston, College of Coastal 13 Georgia; Kaitlyn Shepherd, Columbus State University; Olivia N. Long, Dalton State 14 College; Paul Manuel Warren, East Georgia State College; Elisha Cloy, Fort Valley State 15 University; Anna Graves, Georgia College & State University; Joanna Warnock, Georgia 16 Gwinnett College; Katie Weatherford, Georgia Highlands College; Sydney Mudd, Georgia 17 Institute of Technology; April Trepagnier, Georgia Southern University; Charles Doswell

23

III, Georgia Southwestern State University; Chetna Batra, Georgia State University, Shelby
Anne Peters, Gordon State College; Brianna Mack, Kennesaw State University; Christian
Weaver, Middle Georgia State University; Kenneth Lockhart, Savannah State University;
Trinity Strickland, South Georgia State College; Natalie Moss, University of Georgia; Haley
Menees, University of North Georgia; John David Butler, University of West Georgia; and
Darshi Narendrakumar Patel, Valdosta State University.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
the members of this body recognize and commend the University System of Georgia
Outstanding Scholars for their superb achievements in education and for being selected as
representatives from their respective institutions on the occasion of Academic Recognition
Day for 2023.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to the
Honorable Sonny Perdue, Chancellor, University System of Georgia; Harold Reynolds,
Chairman, Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia; and each of the University
System of Georgia Outstanding Scholars for 2023.