House Resolution 359

By: Representatives Martin of the 49th, England of the 116th, Ralston of the 7th, Ehrhart of the 36th, and Bentley of the 139th

A RESOLUTION

1 Commending University System of Georgia Outstanding Scholars on Academic Recognition

2 Day for 2021; and for other purposes.

WHEREAS, Academic Recognition Day celebrates academic achievement and recognizes
students who exemplify what is best about the University System of Georgia, the units of
which enhance the intellectual, economic, social, civic, and cultural well-being of the entire
state through dedicated teaching, research, and excellence in learning; and

7 WHEREAS, the following students, each of whom has demonstrated excellence in academic 8 achievement and personal development, have been recognized as University System of 9 Georgia Outstanding Scholars representing their respective institutions for 2021: Tania 10 Bautista, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College; Alexia Hurston, Albany State University; 11 Marnita Travis, Atlanta Metropolitan State College; Ryan Frerichs, Augusta University; 12 Afzal Yacoob, Clayton State University; Allison Bennett, College of Coastal Georgia; Ivey 13 Milam, Columbus State University; River Sandoval, Dalton State College; Carley Stapleton, 14 East Georgia State College; Bertha Knight, Fort Valley State University; Kendyl Lewis, 15 Georgia College and State University; La'Nece Strickland, Georgia Gwinnett College; Don 16 Green, Georgia Highlands College; Morgan Knowlton, Georgia Institute of Technology; 17 Katherine Barrs, Georgia Southern University; Ian Wynn, Georgia Southwestern State

University; Nitheyaa Shree, Georgia State University; Dequarious Loper, Gordon State College; Trae Dunn, Kennesaw State University; Tesia Baker, Middle Georgia State University; Ja'mauri Brown, Savannah State University; Samantha Horton, South Georgia State College; Phaidra Buchanan, University of Georgia; Amanda Ash, University of North Georgia; Sydney Francis, University of West Georgia; and Erik Kacprzyk, Valdosta State University.

24 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that

25 the members of this body commend the University System of Georgia Outstanding Scholars

26 for their superb achievements in education and for being selected as representatives from

- 27 their respective institutions on the occasion of Academic Recognition Day for 2021.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
 and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to the
 Honorable Steve Wrigley, chancellor, University System of Georgia; Sachin Shailendra,
 chairperson, Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia; and each of the
 University System of Georgia Outstanding Scholars for 2021.