House Resolution 289

By: Representatives Smith of the 70th, Williams of the 119th, Bentley of the 139th, Clark of the 147th, Dickey of the 140th, and others

A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing and commending the Flint District on being named the Georgia Forestry

2 Commission 2014 District of the Year and inviting them to be recognized by the House of

3 Representatives; and for other purposes.

WHEREAS, the mission of the Georgia Forestry Commission is "To provide leadership,
service and education in the protection and conservation of Georgia's forest resources"; and

6 WHEREAS, each year one Forestry District is selected as the Georgia Forestry 7 Commission's District of the Year based on measures of accomplishments that include 8 customer satisfaction, public outreach, number of miles of firebreaks plowed and harrowed, 9 acres of prescribed burning accomplished, training hours logged, equipment and facility 10 appearance, seedlings sold, and landowner forest management plans completed; and

WHEREAS, the Flint District completed 5,948 agricultural water meter readings; led the state in firebreak plowing, firebreak harrowing, prescribed burning acres, and Firefighter Property Program acquisitions for Rural Fire Departments and Georgia Forestry Commission use; sold and delivered to landowners 1,872,146 tree seedlings; and invested significantly in employee training and the Career Development Increments Program; and

16 WHEREAS, in addition to the above listed accomplishments the Flint District maintained

17 outstanding wildfire protection of the District's 4,772,519 forested acres responding to 549

18 wildfires that burned 2,611 acres for an average fire size of 4.75 acres; and

19 WHEREAS, due to these outstanding accomplishments of the Flint District in the year 2014,

20 the District was selected as the Georgia Forestry Commission's District of the Year; and

- WHEREAS, the recognized District consists of dedicated GFC Professionals Rangers
 Harold Jackson, Kennon Palmer, William Singleton, Charles Watson, Donald Anderson,
- 23 Jacob Hughes, Rickey Latham, Harvey Taylor, Edward Thomas, Justin Brown, Christopher

24 Dunn, David Forsyth, Gerard Powell, Donald Bennett, Christopher Brinson, Ronald Bryant, Jeremy Davis, Jessie Hurst, Lee Weaver, David Wiggins, James Sirmans, Paul King, James 25 O'Dell, Donald Thomas, Stephen Guined, Will Perry, Roger Pollock, John Barwick, Bryan 26 27 Cottles, Royce Davis, Hewlett Powell, Van Smith, Clay Ferguson, Herbert Lindsey, Erica 28 Pfleiderer, Donald Bishop, Mark Bryant, Walter Butler, Hunter Hinson, Blair Kirksey, Todd 29 Milam, Hayden Holt, James McNease, Brantley Smith, William Walker, Clifton LeGrone, 30 Doug Redding, Brock Walker, Alan White, Loran Anderson, Joe Fincher, Willie Jackson, 31 Frederick Robinson, Dean Wiley, Jerry Dailey, Christopher Shannon, Mark Shutters, James 32 Cannon, Derrick Milsap, Jonathan Moore, William Short, Ralph Fletcher, Timothy Ingram, 33 Don Tawzer, Bruce Free, Tyler Harden, and James Reynolds; County Clerks/Tower Operators Katherine Elliott and Debra Barricks; Chief Rangers Lee Wright, Robert Lumpkin, 34 35 Chris Cross, Levy Rentz, Brent McCarty, Tom Lambert, Marty Fore, Brad Gregory, Lester 36 Green, Bryan Spillers, John Pollard, Grady Jarvis, Theo Craddock, Rodney Heard, Daniel 37 Kelley, Albert Potts, Jason Rex, and Nicholas Tresco; Foresters Adrian Campbell, Lisa 38 Duncan, Raymond Norvell, Rankin Smith, and David Todd; and District Staff Lila Johnson,

- 39 Teresa Kregl, Darren Martin, Chad Pritchett, Greg Findley, and Trent Ingram; and
- WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Flint District are a clear indication of the hard work,
 dedication and team work present in the District, the ability of District personnel to meet
 increased demand for services by working together with fewer resources, and continually
- 43 showing loyalty to customers and communities; and

WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Flint District bring great pride upon the
Professionals within the District, the citizens of the District, the Georgia Forestry
Commission, and the State of Georgia.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
the members of this body commend the Flint District for being named the 2014 District of
the Year and invite the dedicated professionals of the Flint District to be recognized by the
House of Representatives on a date and at a time designated by the Speaker of the House of
Representatives.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to District
Manager Trent Ingram.