17 LC 113 0111

House Resolution 187

By: Representatives Burnough of the 77th, Jones of the 53rd, Stephenson of the 90th, Metze of the 55th, and Dukes of the 154th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing February 27, 2017, as Delta Day at the state capitol and commending Delta
- 2 Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., is a public service organization founded on
- 4 January 13, 1913, by 22 visionary women at Howard University in Washington, D.C.; and
- 5 WHEREAS, the founding sisters included Osceola Macarthy Adams, Marguerite Young
- 6 Alexander, Winona Cargile Alexander, Ethel Cuff Black, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Zephyr
- 7 Chisom Carter, Edna Brown Coleman, Jessie McGuire Dent, Frederica Chase Dodd, Myra
- 8 Davis Hemmings, Olive Jones, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Pauline Oberdorfer Minor, Vashti
- 9 Turley Murphy, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Mamie Reddy Rose, Eliza P. Shippen, Florence
- 10 Letcher Toms, Ethel Carr Watson, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Madree Pen White, and Edith
- 11 Motte Young; and
- 12 WHEREAS, only weeks after its founding, the Sorority's first public act of service was
- participation in the Women's Suffrage Movement demanding rights for women, particularly
- 14 the right to vote; and
- 15 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., is a sisterhood of college-educated women
- 16 dedicated to academic excellence and committed to providing assistance; and
- 17 WHEREAS, more than 200,000 women have joined the organization to implement the
- 18 Sorority's mission through its Five Point Programmatic Thrust of Educational Development,
- 19 Economic Development, Political Awareness and Involvement, Physical and Mental Health,
- and International Awareness and Involvement; and
- 21 WHEREAS, the Sorority has more than 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the
- 22 United States as well as internationally (Germany, England, Japan, the Virgin Islands,

17 LC 113 0111

23 Bermuda, Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea) and recently commemorated 104 years of

- 24 exemplary service; and
- 25 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., has instituted the Georganna Sinkfield
- 26 Servant Leadership Award in recognition of her service as the longest serving female in the
- 27 history of the Georgia General Assembly and the Pota E. Coston Trailblazer Award named
- 28 for the first African-American Female Commissioner elected in Fayette County, Georgia;
- 29 and
- 30 WHEREAS, members of this illustrious sisterhood serve as elected officials, lend support
- 31 to various local communities, lead dialogues on public policy issues, support quality
- 32 education efforts, produce new projects to stimulate current and future economic growth, and
- 33 improving the lives of the people in their communities; and
- 34 WHEREAS, numerous individuals have contributed to the successful legacy of Delta Sigma
- 35 Theta Sorority.
- 36 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 37 the members of this body commend the efforts of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., for its
- 38 continued commitment to public service and recognize February 27, 2017, as Delta Day at
- 39 the state capitol.
- 40 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 41 and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to Delta
- 42 Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., and the above-named individuals.