## House Resolution 1792

By: Representatives Benton of the 31<sup>st</sup>, Tarvin of the 2<sup>nd</sup>, Carpenter of the 4<sup>th</sup>, Ridley of the 6<sup>th</sup>, and Buckner of the 137<sup>th</sup>

## A RESOLUTION

1 Congratulating the winners of the Georgia Civil War Commission Art and Essay Contest;

2 and for other purposes.

3 WHEREAS, the Georgia Civil War Commission Art and Essay Contest has sought to 4 encourage Georgia's school students at the public, private, and homeschool levels to think 5 critically about the importance of Georgia's Civil War Heritage through art and in essay 6 form; and

WHEREAS, the Georgia Civil War Commission sought through this contest for students to
see and understand the following character traits displayed in Georgia's Civil War Heritage:
courage, patriotism, citizenship, creativity, and loyalty; and

WHEREAS, this year's art topic asked students to draw headstones, cemeteries, or
monuments in the State of Georgia that are dedicated to Civil War Soldiers; and

12 WHEREAS, in the K-2nd grade contest in the State of Georgia, Samyak Ranjan Chatterjee

13 of Johns Creek Elementary School in Suwannee earned first place; Colton Fillingame of

14 Sumter County Elementary School in Americus earned second place; and Mikayla Kischuck,

15 a homeschooler in Mableton, earned third place; and

WHEREAS, in the 3rd-5th grade contest in the State of Georgia, Abbey Meeker of Oconee
County Elementary School in Watkinsville earned first place; Breanna Donahue of Long

18 Branch Elementary School in Dahlonega earned second place; and Saiya Patel of Woodstock

19 Elementary School in Woodstock earned third place; and

 $20 \quad \text{WHEREAS, in the 6th-8th grade contest in the State of Georgia, Adebola Adewale of Mason}$ 

21 Creek Middle School in Winston earned first place; Olivia Adkins of Dade Middle School

22 in Trenton earned second place; and Paisley Pearson of Dade Middle School in Trenton

23 earned third place; and

18

- 24 WHEREAS, in the 9th-12th grade contest in the State of Georgia, Dalton Manning of Murray
- 25 County High School is Chatsworth earned first place; Kylie Dickinson of McIntosh High
- 26 School in Peachtree City earned second place; and William Brown of Lakeview Fort
- 27 Oglethorpe High School in Fort Oglethorpe earned third place; and
- 28 WHEREAS, this year's essay topic asked students to write about the capture of Confederate
- 29 President Jefferson Davis in Irwinville, Georgia; and
- 30 WHEREAS, in the 6th-8th grade contest in the State of Georgia, Anna Ramsey of Griffin
- 31 Middle School in Smyrna earned first place; David King, a homeschooler in Rockdale
- 32 County, earned second place; and Samiksha Gaherwar of Riverwatch Middle School in
- 33 Suwanee earned third place; and
- 34 WHEREAS, in the 9th-12th grade contest in the State of Georgia, Katherine "Kit" Turner of
- 35 Baylor School in Ringgold earned first place; and
- 36 WHEREAS, it is abundantly fitting and proper that the outstanding accomplishments of
- 37 these exemplary individuals be appropriately recognized.
- 38 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 39 the members of this body congratulate the winners of the Georgia Civil War Commission Art
- 40 and Essay Contest and extend the most sincere best wishes for continued success.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
  and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to
  Samyak Ranjan Chatterjee, Colton Fillingame, Mikayla Kischuck, Abbey Meeker, Breanna
  Donahue, Saiya Patel, Adebola Adewale, Olivia Adkins, Paisley Pearson, Dalton Manning,
  Kylie Dickinson, William Brown, Anna Ramsey, David King, Samiksha Gaherwar, and
  Katherine "Kit" Turner.