18 LC 116 0601

House Resolution 1694

By: Representatives Teasley of the 37th, Reeves of the 34th, Cooper of the 43rd, Anulewicz of the 42nd, Carson of the 46th, and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending Leadership Cobb and the Leadership Cobb Class of 2018; and for other
- 2 purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb was founded in 1983 by a nucleus of leaders in order to train
- 4 a new group of leaders that would guide Cobb County's future; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb owes a special debt of gratitude to its founders, Harris Hines,
- 6 Johnny Isakson, Phil Sanders, and Jay Whorton; to their vision for Cobb County; and to the
- 7 Cobb County Chamber of Commerce for its continued support of the program; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb, from among hundreds of qualified applications, selected only
- 9 50 diverse and exceptionally qualified individuals for the Class of 2018 in order to provide
- 10 a learning environment that enhances personal and professional growth and that is designed
- 11 to benefit the individual, the local community, and the entire Atlanta region; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the time commitment includes eight full-day sessions from September to May;
- 13 four evening sessions; two three-day retreats; time to attend at least two Spotlights on
- 14 Leadership, participate in one of several class projects, and prepare homework for upcoming
- 15 sessions; and a graduation ceremony; and
- 16 WHEREAS, all of these sessions and activities require serious dedication and result in the
- 17 participants becoming more engaged citizens; and
- 18 WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Class of 2018 is led by Leadership Cobb alumni, Lee
- 19 Freeman-Smith; Brett McClung; Chris Martin; Tripp Boyer; and Michelle Howard from the
- 20 Cobb County Chamber of Commerce; and
- 21 WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Class of 2018 also includes dozens of alumni who
- volunteer to work on committees in order to plan each program day; and

18 LC 116 0601

23 WHEREAS, these alumni class members are Wendy Alpine, Elaine Armster, Lisa Ashby,

- 24 Neera Bahl, Dale Bercher, Alyssa Blanchard, Obie Brannon, Littie Brown, Jarrette
- 25 Burckhalter, Amy Carrier, Karen Cates, Cedric Clark, Christi Cronin, Lisa Cupid, Frank
- 26 Durrance, Jesse Evans, Britt Fleck, Jason Gaines, Derek Goshay, Tyler Gwynn, Bonnie
- 27 Harris, Stacy Haubenschild, Bob Heuel, David Hoeller, Erick Hofstetter, Peter Hortman,
- 28 Schuyler Hoynes, David Jones, Derek Krebs, Kelly Luscre, Tim Matthews, Anthony
- 29 Mullins, Nicole Nurse, Jonathan Page, Amber Patterson, Serena Ploessl, Ron Price, Esther
- 30 Prieto, Valerie Prince, Matt Reid, Christina Saliba, Jessi Samford, Kelvin Scott, Amanda
- 31 Seals, Jason Shepherd, Thomas Sherrer, Jr., Angie Smith, Trey Spivey, Meaghan Timko, and
- 32 Erin Zwigart; and
- WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Class of 2018 is poised to make an "Infinite Impact" on
- 34 Cobb County, and it is abundantly fitting and proper that its extraordinary efforts and
- accomplishments be appropriately recognized.
- $36 \quad NOW, THEREFORE, BE\,IT\,RESOLVED\,BY\,THE\,HOUSE\,OF\,REPRESENTATIVES\,that$
- 37 the members of this body recognize and commend Leadership Cobb and the members of the
- 38 Leadership Cobb Class of 2018 for their dedication to community service and their
- 39 commitment to improving opportunities for local citizens.
- 40 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 41 and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to
- 42 Leadership Cobb and the Leadership Cobb Class of 2018.