20 LC 34 5694

House Resolution 1617

By: Representative Ralston of the 7th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the House Interns for the 2020 Regular Session; and for other purposes.
- 2 WHEREAS, the Georgia Legislative Internship Program is one of the nation's oldest
- 3 educational internships to focus on the state legislative process; and
- 4 WHEREAS, the internship program is a cooperative venture between the Georgia General
- 5 Assembly and institutions of higher learning in Georgia; and it provides a select group of
- 6 students in-depth exposure to the House and the Senate by assigning them to assist key
- 7 standing committees and legislative leaders; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the 29 students selected for the House Legislative Internship Program represent
- 9 some of the best and the brightest college students in our state who share a genuine interest
- 10 in the lawmaking process and a potential commitment to public service; and
- 11 WHEREAS, participants in this outstanding program are students from Clayton State
- 12 University, Emory University, Georgia College and State University, Georgia Institute of
- 13 Technology, Georgia State University, Kennesaw State University, Savannah State
- 14 University; the University of Georgia, the University of North Georgia, and the University
- 15 of West Georgia; and
- 16 WHEREAS, the unique experience of participating as a House Intern has undoubtedly
- 17 enriched the academic study these college students have completed; and
- 18 WHEREAS, the members of the standing committees and legislative leaders benefited
- 19 greatly from the service of these interns and salute each of these students on a job well done:
- 20 Interns Nathan Azarowicz, Patryk Bielecki, Jackson Caruso, Avery Chappell, Sandra
- 21 Chavez, David Chen, Macon Chiles, Celina Cotton, Brandon Eads, Lana Goitia, Kelsey
- 22 Hernandez, Charles T. Hyatt, Allie-Grace Mock, Kayli Moody, Alaina Page, Lesley Solis,
- 23 Kyla Miller, Henry Tharpe, Nyaijah Waller, Hayden Lathren, Matthew Couper, Danielle

20 LC 34 5694

24 Smith, Christopher Ridgeway, Jack DellaPenna, August Dunson, Deb Couey, Brittany

- 25 Hackney, Sasha Benefield, and Imani Brooks.
- 26 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 27 this body commends the House Interns for the 2020 Regular Session on their superb
- 28 performance and conveys its best wishes to them for success in their future pursuits.
- 29 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 30 and directed to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to each
- 31 of the interns named herein.