14 LC 103 0559

House Resolution 1595

By: Representatives Smith of the 70th, Nimmer of the 178th, Black of the 174th, Roberts of the 155th, Houston of the 170th, and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the Satilla District for being named the Georgia Forestry Commission 2013
- 2 District of the Year and inviting its dedicated professionals to be recognized by the House
- 3 of Representatives; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, the mission of the Georgia Forestry Commission is to provide leadership,
- 5 service and education in the protection and conservation of Georgia's forest resources; and
- 6 WHEREAS, each year one forestry district is selected as Georgia Forestry Commission's
- 7 District of the Year based on 50 measures of accomplishments that include: customer
- 8 satisfaction, public outreach, number of miles plowed and harrowed, training hours logged,
- 9 facility appearance, seedlings sold, and landowner forest management plans completed; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the Satilla District reduced the average wildfire size by 20 percent, increased
- 11 pre-suppression firebreak plowing by 33 percent, increased assistance to landowners
- 12 performing prescribed burns by 143 percent, sold and delivered to landowners 3,459,450
- 13 seedlings, worked with private landowners on 34 percent more forest management cases, and
- 14 exceeded the statewide average in forestry related educational programs; and
- 15 WHEREAS, in addition to the above listed accomplishments, the Satilla District maintained
- outstanding wildfire protection of the district's 3,856,860 forested acres, responding to 505
- 17 wildfires that burned 2,157 acres for an average fire size of 4.27 acres; and
- 18 WHEREAS, due to these outstanding accomplishments of the Satilla District in the year
- 19 2013, the district was selected as Georgia Forestry Commission District of the Year; and
- 20 WHEREAS, the recognized district is comprised of Rangers Timothy Crosby, Danny Rowe,
- 21 Ronnie Taylor, Joshua Yawn, Darwin Corbitt, Derek Harper, Kevin Pittman, Trey Spivey
- 22 III, Clayton Davis, Michael Nix, Randy Spell, Christopher C. Carter, Christopher J. Carter,
- 23 Mitchell Daniels, Logan Edgy, Donald James, David Westberry, Frank Allen III, James

14 LC 103 0559

24 Armstrong, Jason Harris, Matt Laricos, Marvin Miller, Timothy Redick, Chad Hester, Ethan

- 25 Powell, William Rodgers, Woody Woods, Kenny Cox, Staten Levings III, Tad Littleton,
- 26 Zach Mullis, Buster Croft, Blakely Littleton, Jonathan Livingston, Chris Rigg, James Sikes,
- 27 Darren Vaughn, Kenneth Wells Jr., Berry Bohannon, David Rewis, Dale Arnold, Hilton
- 28 Bennett, Eric Smith, Tony Thomas, James Anderson, Jonathan Herrin, Teressa Moore, and
- 29 Dustin Ogden; Supplemental Firefighters William Greene, Benjamin Amiot, Mike Foreman,
- 30 Steve Miller, Timmy Lee, Darin Russ, Billy Young, Jamie Braddy, and Ethan Boatright;
- 31 County Clerks/Tower Operators Heather Musgrove, Nikki Scott, Pam Lusher and Jennifer
- 32 Evans; Chief Rangers James Rewis, James Smith, Blair Joiner, Barry Rowell, Wes Merkison,
- 33 Stephen Spradley, Jason Squires, Duke Campbell, Thomas Whitley, and Derrick Duncan;
- 34 Foresters William Harvey and Ethan Robertson; and District Staff Jessica Lee, Bo Chesser,
- 35 Buck Kline, and Jason Gillis; and
- 36 WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Satilla District are a clear indication of the hard
- work, dedication, and team work present in the district, the ability of district personnel to
- 38 meet increased demand for services by working together with fewer resources, and the
- 39 district's commitment to continually showing loyalty to customers and communities; and
- 40 WHEREAS, the accomplishments of the Satilla District bring great pride upon the
- 41 professionals within the district, the citizens of the district, the Georgia Forestry
- 42 Commission, and the State of Georgia.
- 43 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 44 the members of this body commend the Satilla District for being named the Georgia Forestry
- 45 Commission 2013 District of the Year and invite its dedicated professionals to be recognized
- by the House of Representatives at a date and time to be determined by the Speaker of the
- 47 House.
- 48 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 49 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to District Manager Jason
- 50 Gillis.