18 LC 117 0356

House Resolution 1493

By: Representatives Buckner of the 137th, Smith of the 134th, and Pezold of the 133td

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending the Harris County School District's Teachers of the Year; and
- 2 for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, a proper quality education for the young people of this state is the single most
- 4 important objective of the General Assembly; and
- 5 WHEREAS, eight teachers in the Harris County School District were individually recognized
- 6 as their school's Teacher of the Year, including Angela Hightower of Harris County Carver
- 7 Middle School, Linda Brown of Mulberry Creek Elementary School, Brooke Riley of
- 8 Creekside Intermediate School, Cynthia Crute of Pine Ridge Elementary School, Kimberly
- 9 Curry of Park Elementary School, Sondra Palmer of Harris County High School, Mary
- 10 Ragan of the Harris County Performance Learning Center (PLC/EOC); and the Harris
- 11 County School District Teacher of the Year, Maggie Williamson of New Mountain Hill
- 12 Elementary School; and
- WHEREAS, these eight teachers are highly praised educators in the Harris County School
- 14 District, tirelessly directing extraordinary amounts of time and talent toward guiding students
- 15 to a brighter future; and
- 16 WHEREAS, in recognition of such remarkable contributions to the education and welfare
- 17 of Georgia's students, it is abundantly fitting and proper for this body to honor the
- 18 extraordinary accomplishments and academic achievements of these outstanding educators.
- 19 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 20 the members of this body recognize and commend Angela Hightower, Linda Brown, Brooke
- 21 Riley, Cynthia Crute, Kimberly Curry, Sondra Palmer, Mary Ragan, and Maggie
- Williamson, the Harris County School District's Teachers of the Year, and express their most
- 23 sincere best wishes for continued success.

18 LC 117 0356

24 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized

- 25 and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to Angela
- 26 Hightower, Linda Brown, Brooke Riley, Cynthia Crute, Kimberly Curry, Sondra Palmer,
- 27 Mary Ragan, and Maggie Williamson.