19 LC 117 0681

House Resolution 130

By: Representatives Jasperse of the 11th, Holmes of the 129th, Ballinger of the 23rd, and Houston of the 170th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the 4-H Clubs of Georgia and John Henry Walker, Arch D. Smith, and the
- 2 2018-2019 4-H Leadership Team and recognizing February 7, 2019, as 4-H Day at the state
- 3 capitol; and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 5 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of
- 6 Georgia; and
- 7 WHEREAS, John Henry Walker of Cook County serves with distinction and dedication as
- 8 State 4-H President; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Arch D. Smith of the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension and Director
- and State 4-H Leader has worked diligently with the 4-H Clubs throughout Georgia; and
- 11 WHEREAS, the leadership, dedication, and hard work of Susan Bishop of Morgan County,
- 12 Jaden Childree of Crawford County, Arham Shah of Emanuel County, and Taylor Wells of
- 13 Clinch County as District Presidents have been acknowledged by the 4-H membership in
- 14 their election of each of these young people to serve as president for 2018-2019; and
- 15 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of Rhea
- 16 Chawla of Hall County, Lavendar Harris of Newton County, Mason McClintock of Bacon
- 17 County, and Hamp Thomas of Chattooga County were recognized in Washington, D.C., at
- 18 the 2018 National 4-H Conference; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Caleb Moseley of Bleckley County and Lily Thibodeaux of Chattooga County
- were named 2018 Leadership in Action winners; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Elizabeth Day of Houston County, Lavendar Harris of Newton County,
- 22 Harrison Martin of Gwinnett County, Chelsea Pusbach of Banks County, and Sophia

19 LC 117 0681

23 Rodriguez of Liberty County were named state winners in the 2018 Deans Awards

- 24 competition; and
- 25 WHEREAS, Sophia Rodriguez of Liberty County was selected as the winner of the 2018
- 26 National 4-H Youth in Action Pillar Award for Healthy Living; and
- 27 WHEREAS, Josef Scarboro of Forsyth County was named 2018 High Individual in National
- 28 4-H Shooting Sports Recurve Archery; and
- 29 WHEREAS, Ambus Powell of Worth County was named 2018 High Individual in National
- 30 4-H Shooting Sports Shotgun; and
- 31 WHEREAS, John Fulmer III, Coty James, Dean Oliver, and Ambus Powell of Worth County
- 32 were declared 2018 Winning Team in National 4-H Shooting Sports Shotgun; and
- 33 WHEREAS, it is abundantly fitting and proper that the outstanding accomplishments of these
- 34 extraordinary individuals be appropriately recognized.
- 35 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 36 the members of this body recognize February 7, 2019, as 4-H Day at the state capitol and
- 37 commend the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 4-H
- 38 Program; John Henry Walker, State 4-H Club President; Arch D. Smith, Director and State
- 39 4-H Leader; each of the 2018-2019 4-H district presidents; each of the 2018 National 4-H
- 40 Conference delegates; the 2018 Leadership in Action winners; the 2018 Deans Awards
- 41 winners; the 2018 National 4-H Youth in Action Pillar Award for Healthy Living winner; the
- 42 2018 High Individual in National 4-H Shooting Sports Recurve Archery; the 2018 High
- 43 Individual in National 4-H Shooting Sports Shotgun; and the 2018 Winning Team in
- 44 National 4-H Shooting Sports Shotgun for their numerous accomplishments and for the
- 45 leadership they have demonstrated.
- 46 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- and directed to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to the
- 48 University of Georgia Cooperative Extension.