14 LC 39 0588

House Resolution 1288

By: Representatives Morris of the 156<sup>th</sup>, Jasperse of the 11<sup>th</sup>, Smith of the 134<sup>th</sup>, England of the 116<sup>th</sup>, Roberts of the 155<sup>th</sup>, and others

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing the 4-H Clubs of Georgia and inviting Mr. Oakley Perry, Mr. Arch D. Smith,
- 2 and the 2013-2014 4-H Leadership Team to be recognized by the House of Representatives;
- 3 and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 5 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of
- 6 Georgia; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Mr. Oakley Perry of Jeff Davis County serves with distinction and dedication
- 8 as State 4-H President; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Mr. Arch D. Smith of the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension and
- 10 State 4-H Leader has worked diligently with the 4-H Clubs throughout Georgia; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Anna Holcombe of Hart County, Matthew Pryor of Bartow County, Bryce
- 12 Johnson of Screven County, and Hannah Rucker of Tift County have demonstrated
- 13 tremendous leadership as district presidents and have been acknowledged by the 4-H
- membership in their election of each of these young people for the 2013-2014 term; and
- 15 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of Ryan
- 16 Rose of Columbia County, Tifara Brown of Ben Hill County, Gracie Rowe of Heard County,
- 17 and Altimease Lowe were recognized in Washington, D.C., at the 2013 National 4-H
- 18 Conference; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Savannah Lockman of Oconee County and Whitney Kirkpatrick of Coweta
- 20 County were named 2013 Leadership in Action winners; and

14 LC 39 0588

21 WHEREAS, Ryan Rose of Columbia County, Hannah Rull of Paulding County, Michael

- Woods of Hancock County, Kirsten Morris of Chatham County, and Camilla Summerford
- 23 of Lowndes County were named state winners in the 2013 Dean's Awards competition; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Claire Livingston of Douglas County was declared champion of the 2014
- 25 National 4-H Family and Consumer Sciences Presentation Contest at the Western National
- 26 Roundup in Denver, Colorado; and
- 27 WHEREAS, the Tift County National 4-H Poultry Judging Team composed of Ben Branch,
- 28 Carolina Carter, Michaela Lubbers, and Miles McDonald were declared 2013 National 4-H
- 29 Poultry Judging champions at the 2013 National 4-H Poultry and Egg Conference in
- 30 Louisville, Kentucky; and
- 31 WHEREAS, the Oconee County National 4-H Dairy Quiz Bowl Team composed of Jared
- 32 Daniel, Godfrey Hendrix, Colton Lowder, and Meghan Mitchell were declared 2013 North
- 33 American 4-H Invitation Dairy Quiz Bowl champions at the Dairy Quiz Bowl in Louisville,
- 34 Kentucky; and
- 35 WHEREAS, February 24, 2014, is 4-H Day at the state capitol.
- 36 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 37 the members of this body recognize and commend the University of Georgia College of
- 38 Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 4-H Program, Mr. Oakley Perry, Mr. Arch D.
- 39 Smith, and each of the 4-H leaders and members named in this resolution and invite them to
- 40 be recognized by the House of Representatives at a date and time to be determined by the
- 41 Speaker of the House.
- 42 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the University of Georgia
- 44 Cooperative Extension.