21 LC 123 0043

House Resolution 126

By: Representatives Jones of the 25th, McDonald of the 26th, Wade of the 9th, Cantrell of the 22nd, and Gilligan of the 24th

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the Pinecrest Academy football team; and for other purposes.
- 2 WHEREAS, the Pinecrest Academy football team has established and maintained a proud
- 3 tradition of excellence with equal emphases on athleticism and academics despite the
- 4 challenges placed upon them by COVID-19; and
- 5 WHEREAS, when Head Coach Shawn Coury began working at Pinecrest Academy in May
- 6 2020, he inherited a program with nine returning players, two incoming juniors, and three
- 7 incoming freshmen, which came to a total of 14 players for the entire roster; and
- 8 WHEREAS, by the end of summer workouts, the team had raised its total roster to 22 players
- 9 and assembled a 2020 schedule in collaboration with the GAPPS; and
- 10 WHEREAS, excellent play, superior teamwork, and extraordinary resilience made this team
- a special one to observe throughout the season, and as a fitting finale to their challenging
- 12 2020 campaign, the team conquered their first state football championship; and
- WHEREAS, the phenomenal performance of the team is a clear indication of the outstanding
- 14 athletic ability, dedication, hard work, and unity of purpose and spirit of each member of the

21 LC 123 0043

15 team; its superb offensive and defensive talents; and the astute direction of Head Coach

- 16 Coury; and
- 17 WHEREAS, as this magnificent team earned their well-deserved reputation for excellence
- 18 by performing with courage and precision over months of training and competition, it is
- 19 abundantly fitting and proper to call the following team members and staff champions:
- 20 players Mark Metz, Colin Brown, Patrick Frain, Ryan Bartling, Alex Jeffords, Sean McCabe,
- 21 Luke Coury, William West, Breckin Barbee, Andrew Darlak, Timothy Conklin, Oscar
- 22 Lynch, John Olah, Brock Barbee, Lewis Diaz, Bryce Balthaser, Joe McDonald, John Stubbs,
- Will Howell, Nicholas Bohn, Jackson McCray, and Hunter Ellis; Head Coach Shawn Coury;
- 24 assistant coaches Patsy Gliatta, Chad Whitlow, Carson Adams, Nico Quintana, and Blake
- 25 Roberts; and Athletic Trainer Josh Bush.
- 26 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 27 the members of this body commend the Pinecrest Academy football team and extend their
- 28 most sincere best wishes for continued success.
- 29 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to the
- 31 players and staff of the Pinecrest Academy football team.