House Resolution 1232

By: Representatives Mainor of the 56<sup>th</sup>, Thomas of the 65<sup>th</sup>, and Jackson of the 128<sup>th</sup>

## A RESOLUTION

Recognizing and commending Benjamin E. Mays High School, its student body, faculty, and
 staff in Atlanta, Georgia; and for other purposes.

WHEREAS, Benjamin E. Mays High School is a Georgia School of Excellence in the
Atlanta Public School System and named after an American Baptist minister and civil rights
leader; and

6 WHEREAS, Benjamin E. Mays taught and mentored many influential leaders, including
7 Martin Luther King Jr., Julian Bond, Maynard Jackson, and Donn Clendenon, while
8 advocating for social justice through nonviolence and civil resistance and was posthumously
9 awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom; and

WHEREAS, Benjamin E. Mays is a former president of the Atlanta Board of Education and
initiated the racial desegregation movement in Atlanta, and the high school for which he was
named has continued to graduate distinguished students; and

WHEREAS, the first principal of Mays High was Mr. Thomas E. Wood, followed by Dr.
Ruby McClendon, Mr. Ronald Brown, Dr. Tyronne Smith, Mr. Richard Fowler, and the
current principal Dr. Mulanta Wilkins as of the date of this recognition; and

WHEREAS, these graduates currently or in the past have served in honorable elected office positions: Kwanza Hall is a Georgia 5th district United States Congressman, Andre Dickens is the 61st Mayor of Atlanta, Mesha Mainor is a Georgia 56th district State House Representative, Khadijah Abdur-Rahman is a Georgia 6th district Fulton County Commissioner, Alieka Anderson is a Georgia 1st District Clayton County Commissioner, Ceasar Mitchell is the president of the Atlanta City Council, Marci Overstreet is an Atlanta City Councilman, Joshua Butler IV is a Georgia East Point City Councilman, and Roderick

23 Smith is the City of Atlanta Fire Chief; and

WHEREAS, Walter Kimbrough is president of Dillard University, Lena Hill is provost at
Washington and Lee University, and Charles Lee Isbell Jr. is dean of the Georgia Institute

26 of Technology College of Computing; and

WHEREAS, these graduates are globally recognized artists, Rozonda Thomas (TLC), Diallo
Riddle (Emmy Awardee), Thomas DeCarlo Callaway (Goodie Mob), Cameron Gipp (Goodie

29 Mob), Willie Edward Knighton Jr. (Goodie Mob), Robert Terrance Barnett (Goodie Mob),

30 Kia Phillips (KP & Envyi), and Tayari Jones (novelist); and

31 WHEREAS, these graduates are professional athletes, DeAngelo Yancey, Gerald Wilkins,

32 Reggie Wilkes, Natrez Patrick, Tyrell Adams, and Kelly Campbell; and Bryan McClendon

33 is a University of Georgia football coach; and

WHEREAS, honorable mentions are Reverend James Bronner, Atlanta Fire Chief Roderick
Smith, Atlanta Deputy Fire Chief Mike Winfrey, Atlanta Battalion Fire Chief Theresa
Cummings, Atlanta Fire Battalion Chief Chadwick Thomas, Atlanta Fire Section Chief
Sherwin Brown, Atlanta Fire Captain Adetokunbo Martins, Atlanta Fire Captain Herschel

38 Young, Atlanta Fire Captain Raymondo Hampton, Cabral Franklin, Andrew Young III,

39 Maynard Jackson III, and Shanti Das.

## 40 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that

41 the members of this body recognize and commend the inaugural distinguished body of 42 former Benjamin E. Mays High School students on their notable accomplishments and 43 commend their God-given gifts and talents that positively impact Georgians and others

- 44 across the world.
- 45 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 46 and directed to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to
- 47 Benjamin E. Mays High School students.