14 LC 103 0159

House Resolution 1228

By: Representative Cheokas of the 138th

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing February 19, 2014, as the 2nd Annual Legislative Fly-In at the state capitol and
- 2 inviting the Georgia Airports Association and its leadership, Colette Edmisten, Mario Evans,
- 3 Mike Mathews, Blake Swafford, and Jim Galloway, to be recognized by the House of
- 4 Representatives; and for other purposes.
- 5 WHEREAS, Georgia's airport system is an extremely important and valuable transportation
- 6 resource for this state's residents, businesses, and visitors; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the mission of the Georgia Airports Association (GAA) is "to provide, develop,
- 8 and expand a safe and efficient airports system to meet the future economic growth of
- 9 Georgia through the full implementation of the State Aviation System Plan (SASP)"; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the SASP recognizes that airports are an indispensable component of this state's
- 11 total transportation system that strongly supports this state's economy; and
- 12 WHEREAS, GAA President Colette Edmisten, Past President Robert Mohl, Vice President
- 13 Mario Evans, Treasurer Mike Mathews, Blake Swafford, and Jim Galloway have diligently
- 14 and conscientiously worked to obtain the maximum amount of financial support they can for
- 15 every airport in Georgia, regardless of size or type; and
- 16 WHEREAS, GAA's expansive networking organization provides a forum where questions
- 17 can be asked, and where answers and documents can be shared by individuals, allowing
- smaller airfields to accomplish much more in a limited period of time with the money and
- 19 resources available; and
- 20 WHEREAS, it is abundantly fitting and proper to recognize the vital role that these airports
- 21 play in connecting their areas to the aviation system for their region, this state, and the
- 22 nation.

14 LC 103 0159

23 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that

- 24 the members of this body recognize February 19, 2014, as the 2nd Annual Legislative Fly-In
- 25 at the state capitol and commend the Georgia Airports Association and its leadership, Colette
- 26 Edmisten, Robert Mohl, Mario Evans, Blake Swafford, Jim Galloway, Mike Mathews,
- 27 Yvette Achle, Jeff Herrington, and Balrom Bheodari, for their dedicated service to Georgia
- and invite them to be recognized by the House of Representatives at a date and time to be
- 29 determined by the Speaker of the House.
- 30 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 31 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the Georgia Airports
- 32 Association.