20 LC 120 0083

House Resolution 1144

By: Representatives Reeves of the 34th, Williams of the 37th, and Anulewicz of the 42nd

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing and commending Leadership Cobb and the Leadership Cobb Class of 2020; and
- 2 for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb was founded in 1983 by a nucleus of leaders in order to train
- 4 new leaders to guide Cobb County's future; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb owes a special debt of gratitude to its founders, Harris Hines,
- 6 Johnny Isakson, Phil Sanders, and Jay Whorton, and their vision for Cobb County, as well
- 7 as the Cobb County Chamber of Commerce for its continued support of the program; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Leadership Cobb, from hundreds of qualified applications, selected only 50
- 9 diverse and exceptionally qualified individuals for the Class of 2020 to provide a learning
- 10 environment that enhances personal and professional growth designed to benefit the
- individual, his or her local community, and the entire Atlanta region; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the time commitment includes eight full-day sessions from September to May,
- 13 four evening sessions, two three-day retreats, as well as time to attend Spotlight on
- 14 Leadership programs, participate in class projects, prepare homework for upcoming sessions,
- and attend a graduation ceremony, all of which require serious dedication but also help the
- 16 participants become more engaged citizens; and
- 17 WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Class of 2020 is led by Leadership Cobb Alumni Mike
- 18 DeWitt, Melissa Perignat, Wendy Bunch, and Matt Teague; Ashley Ward from the Cobb
- 19 County Chamber of Commerce; and dozens of alumni who volunteer for committees to plan
- 20 each program day; class members include Julia Ayers, Diane Benson-Brown, Kim Blass,
- 21 Scott Cline, Pam Conner, Nancy Couch, Daniel Cummings, Jason Cunningham, Katina
- 22 Cunningham, Andrew Dill, Matt Eyrich, Fran Friedrich, Bradley Fulkerson, Andy Gaines,
- 23 Lindsay Gardner, Carl Garner, Jeff Goldberg, Brad Gubler, Kellie Hill, Lindsay Hill, Gerlda
- 24 Hines, Michele Howard, Jon Ingram, Christian Jacobsen, Kristi Janman, Vanita Keswani,

20 LC 120 0083

25 Gilles LaMarche, Katie Leonard, Juliana Lindley, Barbara LoRusso, John Loyd, Fallon

- 26 McClure, Billy Miles, Jr., Rachel Miller, Kevin Milman, Jamie Moody, Kevin Nicholas,
- 27 Rosan Petrillo, David Quiroga, LeAnne Richards, Natalie Rutledge, Geoffrey Schmidt, Chris
- 28 Sizemore, Joe Stockman, Brian Sullivan, Bill Tanks, Dan Timko, Stephen Vault, Bill
- 29 Volckmann, and Carly Westcott; and
- 30 WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Politics Day Committee, composed of Leadership Cobb
- 31 Alumni Teri Anulewicz, Mark Carter, Sarah Douglas, Jeff Drobney, Kim Ellet, Jerry
- 32 Fountain, Slade Gulledge, Julie Jacobs, Karyn Matthews, Keylan Mitchell, Michael Paris,
- 33 Robert Quigley, and Jason Shepherd and lead by Co-Chairs State Representative Bert Reeves
- 34 and Cobb Probate Court Judge Kelli Wolk, has created a program where the Leadership
- 35 Cobb Class of 2020 will spend January 22, 2020, learning more about how their government
- 36 works and operates, better equipping them to be even more engaged citizens; and
- 37 WHEREAS, the Leadership Cobb Class of 2020's motto, "Focus. Insight. Vision.," will
- 38 ensure that the lessons the class takes away from their Leadership Cobb experience will
- 39 allow them to approach the future to clearly see their role in creating a better Cobb County
- 40 community.
- 41 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 42 the members of this body commend Leadership Cobb and the members of the Leadership
- 43 Cobb Class of 2020 for their dedication to community service and their commitment to
- 44 improving opportunities for local citizens.
- 45 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 46 and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to
- 47 Leadership Cobb and the Leadership Cobb Class of 2020.