LC 128 0186

House Resolution 1133

By: Representative Mitchell of the 88<sup>th</sup>

## **A RESOLUTION**

- 1 Urging the United States Congress to pass the Kidney Patient Access to Technologically
- 2 Innovative and Essential Nephrology Treatments Act of 2023 or the "Kidney PATIENT Act
- 3 of 2023" (H.R. 5074); and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, the proposed change by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)
- 5 in 2025 to exclude separate payment for oral-only phosphate lowering therapies (PLTs) from
- 6 Medicare Part D and provide for payment of PLTs only in the ESRD prospective payment
- 7 system poses a significant risk to the accessibility and affordability of these vital medications
- 8 for dialysis patients; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Georgia patients with kidney failure are already facing unique challenges for
- 10 care, including comorbidities such as diabetes and hypertension, and shifting payment for
- oral-only PLTs from Part D into the ESRD prospective payment system will have a
- 12 disproportionate impact on minority and low-income communities in Georgia; and
- 13 WHEREAS, the General Assembly acknowledges the bipartisan efforts led by U.S.
- 14 Representatives Carter, Kuster, Miller, and Sewell in introducing the Kidney PATIENT Act
- of 2023, aiming to delay the inclusion of oral-only drugs in the ESRD prospective payment
- system until 2033 or until new intravenous therapies are available.

24 LC 128 0186

17 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF

- 18 GEORGIA that the members of this body urge the United States Congress to pass the Kidney
- 19 PATIENT Act of 2023 (H.R. 5074) promptly to ensure ESRD patients in and across the
- 20 nation continue to have access to essential oral-only medications.
- 21 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 22 and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to the
- 23 Speaker and the Clerk of the United States House of Representatives, the President and the
- 24 Secretary of the United States Senate, and each member the Georgia Congressional
- 25 delegation.