13 LC 100 0097

House Resolution 109

By: Representatives Jasperse of the 11th, Smith of the 134th, Allison of the 8th, Harden of the 148th, Kelley of the 16th, and others

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing the 4-H Clubs of Georgia and inviting Ms. Tifara Brown, Mr. Arch D. Smith,
- 2 and the 2012-2013 4-H Leadership Team to be recognized by the House of Representatives;
- 3 and for other purposes.
- 4 WHEREAS, Ms. Tifara Brown of Ben Hill County serves with distinction and dedication as
- 5 State 4-H President; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Mr. Arch D. Smith of the University of Georgia Cooperative Extension and
- 7 State 4-H Leader has worked diligently with the 4-H Clubs throughout Georgia; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Maya Mapp of Baldwin County, Whitney Kirkpatrick of Coweta County,
- 9 Rachael Allen of Johnson County, and Blake Allen of Lowndes County have demonstrated
- 10 tremendous leadership as district presidents and have been acknowledged by the 4-H
- membership in their election of each of these young people for the 2012-2013 term; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the excellent record of accomplishments in citizenship and leadership of
- Whitney Kirkpatrick of Coweta County, Savannah Lockman of Oconee County, Emily Tyus
- of Bleckley County, and Juawn Jackson of Bibb County were recognized in Washington,
- 15 D.C., at the 2012 National 4-H Conference; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Kevin Morris of Chatham County and Mary Clayton Gilbert of Bartow County
- were named 2012 Leadership in Action winners; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Savannah Lockman of Oconee County, Garrett Hibbs of Oconee County, Tess
- 19 Hammock of Monroe County, Conor Dunn of Tift County, and Crystal Buckingham of
- 20 Pickens County were named state winners in the 2012 Dean's Awards competition; and

13 LC 100 0097

21 WHEREAS, the Bartow County National Consumer Decisions Contest composed of Eli

- 22 DeBroux, Mary Clayton Gilbert, Emily Velazquez, and Colyn White won the 2012 National
- 23 Consumer Decisions Contest in Denver, Colorado; and
- 24 WHEREAS, 4-H members consistently demonstrate the ability and leadership necessary to
- 25 be champions and serve as outstanding representatives and officers of the young people of
- 26 Georgia.
- 27 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 28 the members of this body recognize and commend the University of Georgia College of
- 29 Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 4-H Program, Ms. Tifara Brown, Mr. Arch D.
- 30 Smith, and each of the 4-H leaders and members named in this resolution and invite them to
- 31 be recognized by the House of Representatives at a date and time to be determined by the
- 32 Speaker of the House.
- 33 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 34 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the University of Georgia
- 35 Cooperative Extension.