## House Resolution 1028

By: Representatives Burnough of the  $77^{th}$ , Metze of the  $55^{th}$ , Jones of the  $53^{rd}$ , and Stephenson of the  $90^{th}$ 

## A RESOLUTION

1 Recognizing February 26, 2018, as Delta Day at the state capitol and commending Delta

- 2 Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.; and for other purposes.
- 3 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., is a public service organization founded on
- 4 January 13, 1913, by 22 visionary women at Howard University in Washington, D.C.; and
- WHEREAS, the founding sisters included Osceola Macarthy Adams, Marguerite Young
  Alexander, Winona Cargile Alexander, Ethel Cuff Black, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Zephyr
  Chisom Carter, Edna Brown Coleman, Jessie McGuire Dent, Frederica Chase Dodd, Myra
  Davis Hemmings, Olive Jones, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Pauline Oberdorfer Minor, Vashti
  Turley Murphy, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Mamie Reddy Rose, Eliza P. Shippen, Florence
  Letcher Toms, Ethel Carr Watson, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Madree Pen White, and Edith
- 11 Motte Young; and
- 12 WHEREAS, only weeks after its founding, the Sorority's first public act of service was

13 participation in the Women's Suffrage Movement demanding rights for women, particularly

- 14 the right to vote; and
- WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., is a sisterhood of college-educated womendedicated to academic excellence and committed to providing assistance; and
- WHEREAS, more than 200,000 women have joined the organization to implement the
  Sorority's mission through its Five Point Programmatic Thrust of Educational Development,
  Economic Development, Political Awareness and Involvement, Physical and Mental Health,
- 20 and International Awareness and Involvement; and
- WHEREAS, the Sorority has more than 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the
  United States as well as internationally (Germany, England, Japan, the Virgin Islands,

18

18

LC 117 0149

- 23 Bermuda, Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea) and recently commemorated 104 years of
- 24 exemplary service; and

25 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., has instituted the Georganna Sinkfield

26 Servant Leadership Award in recognition of her service as the longest serving female in the

27 history of the Georgia General Assembly and the Pota E. Coston Trailblazer Award named

- 28 for the first African-American Female Commissioner elected in Fayette County, Georgia;
- and and
- 30 WHEREAS, members of this illustrious sisterhood serve as elected officials, lend support
- 31 to various local communities, lead dialogues on public policy issues, support quality
- 32 education efforts, produce new projects to stimulate current and future economic growth, and
- 33 improving the lives of the people in their communities; and
- 34 WHEREAS, numerous individuals have contributed to the successful legacy of Delta Sigma
- 35 Theta Sorority.
- $36 \qquad \text{NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that}$
- 37 the members of this body commend the efforts of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., for its
- 38 continued commitment to public service and recognize February 26, 2018, as Delta Day at
- 39 the state capitol.
- 40 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 41 and directed to make appropriate copies of this resolution available for distribution to Delta
- 42 Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., and the above-named individuals.