House Bill 921 (AS PASSED HOUSE AND SENATE)

By: Representatives Alexander of the 66th, Bruce of the 61st, Gravley of the 67th, Collins of the 68th, Thomas of the 65th, and others

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

- 1 To amend an Act creating the Board of Commissioners of Douglas County, approved
- 2 February 15, 1952 (Ga. L. 1952, p. 2703), as amended, particularly by an Act approved
- 3 February 27, 2012 (Ga. L. 2012, p. 3725), so as to change the description of the
- 4 commissioner districts; to provide for definitions and inclusions; to provide for continuation
- 5 in office of current members; to provide for effective dates; to repeal conflicting laws; and
- 6 for other purposes.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA:

8 SECTION 1.

- 9 An Act creating the Board of Commissioners of Douglas County, approved February 15,
- 10 1952 (Ga. L. 1952, p. 2703), as amended, particularly by an Act approved February 27, 2012
- 11 (Ga. L. 2012, p. 3725), is amended by revising subsections (a), (b), and (c) of Section 3 as
- 12 follows:

7

- 13 "(a) For purposes of electing members of the board of commissioners, other than the
- chairperson, Douglas County shall be divided into four commissioner districts. One
- member of the board shall be elected from each such district. Commissioner Districts 1,
- 16 2, 3, and 4 shall be and correspond to those four numbered districts described in

17 Appendix A attached to and made a part of this Act and further identified as 'User: Douglas

- 18 Plan Name: DouglasCC-2022 Plan Type: Local'.
- 19 (b)(1) For the purposes of such plan, the term 'VTD' shall mean and describe the same
- 20 geographical boundaries as provided in the report of the Bureau of the Census for the
- 21 United States decennial census of 2020 for the State of Georgia. The separate numeric
- designations in a district description which are underneath a VTD heading shall mean and
- 23 describe individual Blocks within a VTD as provided in the report of the Bureau of the
- 24 Census for the United States decennial census of 2020 for the State of Georgia; and
- 25 (2) Except as otherwise provided in the description of any district, whenever the
- description of any district refers to a named city, it shall mean the geographical
- boundaries of that city as shown on the census maps for the United States decennial
- census of 2020 for the State of Georgia.
- 29 (3) Any part of Douglas County which is not included in any district described in
- 30 subsection (a) of this section shall be included within that district contiguous to such part
- 31 which contains the least population according to the United States decennial census of
- 32 2020 for the State of Georgia.
- 33 (4) Any part of Douglas County which is described in subsection (a) of this section as
- being included in a particular district shall nevertheless not be included within such
- district if such part is not contiguous to such district. Such noncontiguous part shall
- instead be included within that district contiguous to such part which contains the least
- population according to the United States decennial census of 2020 for the State of
- 38 Georgia.
- 39 (c) Commissioner Districts 1, 2, 3, and 4, as they exist immediately prior to the effective
- date of this Act, shall continue to be designated as Commissioner Districts 1, 2, 3, and 4.
- respectively, but as newly described under this Act, and on and after the effective date of
- 42 this Act, such members of the board serving from those former commissioner districts shall

be deemed to be serving from and representing their respective districts as newly described under this Act."

45 SECTION 2.

- Those members of the Board of Commissioners of Douglas County who are serving as such on the effective date of this Act and any person selected to fill a vacancy in any such office shall continue to serve as such members until the regular expiration of their respective terms of office and upon the election and qualification of their respective successors.
- SECTION 3.
- The provisions of this Act necessary to conduct elections for the members of the Board of Commissioners of Douglas County in 2022 shall become effective upon the approval of this
- 53 Act by the Governor or upon its becoming law without such approval. The remaining
- 54 provisions of this Act shall become effective on January 1, 2023.
- SECTION 4.
- All laws and parts of laws in conflict with this Act are repealed.

57 APPENDIX A

- 58 User: Douglas
- 59 Plan Name: DouglasCC-2022
- 60 Plan Type: Local
- 61 District 001
- 62 County Douglas GA
- 63 VTD BEULAH BAPTIST CHURCH
- 64 VTD FIRST BAPTIST LITHIA SPRINGS
- 65 VTD GOLDEN METHODIST CH
- 66 VTD OLD COURTHOUSE
- 67 VTD STEWART
- 68 VTD TURNER
- 69 District 002
- 70 County Douglas GA
- 71 VTD BOUNDARY WATERS
- 72 VTD CHESTNUT LOG
- 73 VTD COLONIAL HILLS
- 74 VTD COUNTY LINE BAPTIST
- 75 VTD DEER LICK
- 76 VTD FACTORY SHOALS
- 77 Block 080602:
- 78 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 4000 4001 4002 4003 4004 4005 4006
- 79 4007 4008 4009 4010 4011 4012 4013 4014 4015 4016 4017 4018
- 80 4019 4020 4021 4022 4023 4024 4025 4026 4027 4028 4029 4030

81 4031 4032 4033 4034 4035 4036 4037 4038 4039 4040 4041 4042

- 82 Block 080605:
- 83 3000 3001 3002 3003 3004 3005 3006
- 84 Block 080606:
- 85 3000
- 86 District 003
- 87 County Douglas GA
- 88 VTD CHAPEL HILL
- 89 VTD CHURCH AT CHAPEL HILL
- 90 VTD DORSETT SHOALS
- 91 VTD FACTORY SHOALS
- 92 Block 080605:
- 93 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005
- 94 VTD FIRST BAPTIST DOUGLASVILLE
- 95 VTD LUTHERAN CHURCH GS
- 96 VTD PRAYS MILL GYM
- 97 Block 080506:
- 98 1006 1007 2006 2014 3002 3003 3004 3005 3006 3007 3008 3009
- 99 3010 3014 3016 3017
- 100 Block 080507:
- 101 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 2000 2001 2002 2003
- 102 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 3000 3001 3002 3003 3004
- 103 3005
- 104 Block 080514:
- 105 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2010

- 106 District 004
- 107 County Douglas GA
- 108 VTD ARBOR STATION
- 109 VTD BRIGHT STAR
- 110 VTD DAY STAR GYM
- 111 VTD EPHESUS BAPTIST CHUR
- 112 VTD MIRROR LAKE ELEMENTA
- 113 VTD PRAYS MILL GYM
- 114 Block 080506:
- 115 3000 3001
- 116 VTD ST JULIANS EPISCOPAL
- 117 VTD WINSTON